Cellardyke owned and skippered steam drifters and liners

This is the Cellardyke drifter and liners fleet, if you have any boat photos to add to the list, we will post one of each boat, and any info to add to the existing photos –

This list includes Anstruther owned vessels, the curers who had the initial finances to invest in the vessels often lived in Anstruther but it was Cellardyke fishermen who part owned and crewed them. There are also some DE reg vessels that were hired by Cellardyke Crews.

When a vessel is named as “HMD” this stands for His Majesty’s Drifter, built to replace vessels lost in WW1, then sold by the Admiralty to the fishing

any further info please email info@cellardyketrust.org

Suffolk County on sea trials as Spearmint LT 1059

SUFFOLK COUNTY KY 6 Official Number 125853, Built of Wood in 1907, by John Chambers Lowestoft. 88 GRT 84 Ft x 19.5 Ft x 9.3 Ft. 20 H.P. Engine Manufacturer Elliot and Garood. Original name and registration of vessel – Spearmint LT1059. Renamed Suffolk County LT 1059 in 1908 , bought by James Cowie, West Forth Street, Cellardyke, Leslie Jack and Thomas Watson in 1914. requisitioned 1915-1919 net vessel with 3 pounder gun. Sold 1924 rereg FR30. . Year scrapped 1935

NOONTIDE KY 6 SEE NOONTIDE KY 163 Official Number 131888 Built of Steel 1918 By Colby Bros Lowestoft. 97 GRT 86.2 Ft x 18.5 Ft x 9.3 Ft . 34 H.P. Engine Manufacturer, Crabtree Gt Yarmouth Vessel . Original name and registration of vessel HMD Noontide remained in Admiraty service until 1948. bought by James Brunton 59 James Street , George Muir 32 Shore Street., permission given to retain the Admiralty name. Reg in 1949 changed to KY163 in 1951. Sold 1953 to Yarmouth rereg YH 33 sold for scrap 1960, broken up Charlestown Fife” For Photos see KY 163

LILY AND MAGGIE KY 8 Official Number 126979, Built of Steel 1909 By Smiths Dock North Shields. 87 GRT 82.2 Ft x 18.5 Ft x 8.7 Ft. 38 H.P. Engine Manufacturer Shields Engineering Co. Original name and registration of vessel Lily and Maggie KY8. Built For John Gardner (Ritchie) 2 Rodger Street, later including J Gardner Jnr, J Bowman(Gardner)St Monance. Sold 1918/9 to Mitchell Hughes (Hughes) Shore Pittenweem. In 1922 renamed Lena and Francois ML 19, in 1928 re reg KY 8 owners James Hughes, Fran Hughes, Mitchel Hughes Junior. requistioned 1915-1919 as net vessel with 6 pounder ” Year scrapped 1937

Betty Inglis KY 14

BETTY INGLIS KY 14 Official Number 104511, Built of Steel 1895 by Hall Russell Aberdeen. 109 GRT 90 Ft x 19.6 Ft x 10 Ft. 45 H.P. Engine Manufacturer Hall Russell, Aberdeen. Original name and registration of vessel – Betty Inglis A 770. Bought 1915 by R Melville, George Melville and T Melville Anstruther, re reg KY14, part sold same year to G Melville, Anstruther and C Craig Aberdeen re reg A455, sold 1928 to Macduff re reg BF 349, designated fishery trawler WW1 and was requistioned in WW2 for Harbour Duties Vessel. ” Year scrapped 1945/46

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is KY-14-Cassiopeia-2-1024x663.jpg

CASSIOPEIA KY 14 Official Number 144790, Built of Steel 1920 By W H Warren Shpyard, New Holland, Linconshire. 97 GRT 86 Ft x 18.6 Ft x 9.4 Ft . 42 H.P. Engine Manufacturer Great Central Co-operative Engineering Co. Original name and registration of vessel HMD Windrise First fished as Windries A291. Bought 1924 by James B Wilson 28 Fowler Street, William Wilson, D Watson, William C Wilson renamed Cassiopeia KY 14. Sold to Milford Haven 1945 re reg LT 86, sold to Peterhead 1948 rereg PD 34 requisitioned WW2 as hospital drifter.” Year scrapped 1950s

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is KY-16-Refloresco--1024x676.jpg

REFLORESCO KY 16 Official Number 131882, Built of Steel 1924 By Alexander Hall, Aberdeen, 123 GRT 90 Ft x 20.1 Ft x 10.1 Ft . 42 H.P. Engine Manufacturer Great Central Co-operative Engineering Co. Original name and registration of vessel Refloresco KY 16. Built for James Muir (Keay) 12 Fowler Street, A Muir (Wood) Machinery, boiler casing etc were supplied boy owners from Dyker Lassie which was scrapped as unseaworthy at only 4 years old. 1925 owners J Muir (Keay), A Muir (Wood) E Swinton, J Cargill, M Muir, R M Keay. 1934-7 owners E Muir, Jemima Muir, Mary Muir, R M keay, A Muir (Wood), John Muir. vessel sold 1937 to the Suffolk steam fishing Co re named Feaco LT 207. In the vessel was 1956 converted to motor and new casing fitted, it was said to be sold to Ghana. In 1987 the vessel was still afloat in Spain. The Refloresco was replaced by Ecksy Muir in 1938 with the Refleurir KY 16 built in Cellardyke by the East Fife Boatbuilding Co ( The last fishing boat to be built in Cellardyke.).

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is KY-19-Spes-Melior--1024x638.jpg

SPES MELLIOR KY 19. Official Number 127395, Built of Steel 1919 By Scott and Sons Bowling, 96 GRT 86.1 Ft x 18.6 Ft x 9.3 Ft. 42 H.P. Engine Manufacturer Wm Beardmore & Co Coatbridge. Original name and registration of vessel HMD Undertow, first fished as Undertow BCK 368, sold 1922 rereg LH297. Bought in 1924 to Wm Moncrieff, Burnside Tce, Cellardyke, A D Scales, T H Scales, T H Scales Jnr, T S Macfarlane, Wright, T Clapperton, J Murray, J Bruce, Mary A Wright, E Gray or Hughes, MM Graham. The boat was sold 1945 to Aberdeen and kept KY reg, sold for reported £3300 to Peterhead in 1947 and rereg PD397, requisitioned WW2 on harbour duties Year scrapped 1954

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is KY-20-Bene-Vertat.jpg

BENE VERTAT KY 20 Official Number 145549, Built of Steel 1921 By Chrighton Thomson, Kings Lynn. 97 GRT, 86.4 Ft x 18.5 Ft x 9.3 Ft. 42 H.P. Engine Manufacturer Alfred Dodman and Co Kings Lynn. Original name and registration of vessel HMD Morn. First fished as Morn LH 282, later Homefinder LH282. Bought 1924 by James Barclay 8 Fowler Street, Cellardyke, C Reid, D Reid,A Reid Jnr, and D Corstorphine, sold 1940 to J Marr, St Monans and renamed Defensor KY 208, sold 1945 to Aberdeen kept KY reg, sold 1951 to Peterhead re regDefensor PD 186, was bought as a stop gap until MV Quiet Waters was built. Requistioned WW2 for harbour duties, reputed to be last Admiralty Standard Drifter completed. Year scrapped 1953

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is KY-21-1952.jpg

COSMEA KY 21/ CORIEDALIS KY 21 (seen here as Coriedalis) Built of Steel 1918By John Duthie, Torry, Aberdeen 96 GRT 86 Ft x 18.6 Ft x 9.2 Ft, 42 H.P. Engine Manufacturer, Wm Beardmore & Co Coatbridge . Original name and registration of vessel – HMD Dusk , first fished 1920 as Dusk PZ 139, sold 1924 to J Boyter, WC Wilson, D Christie and GH Christie, sold 1949 to J Muir and R Hastie, renamed Coriedalis – Requistioned WW2 for Harbour service duties, last Scottish Steam drifter to visit Great Yarmouth. She was replaced by the Silver Chord a new motor vessel built at Smith and Huttons, Anstruther, on ther first season at Yarmouth the Silver Chord KY 124 won the Prunier Herring Trophy. Year scrapped 1956 , Scottish Steam Drifter to visit Yarmouth, 1956.

Cosmea was owned and skippered by Jimmy Boyter until his death at the end of WW2, when she was sold and became Coriedalis. Jimmy Boyter’s daughter, Helen married Bruce Smith, brother of Philip Smith of Smith and Hutton, who designed some of their boats including Radiation and Argonaut 2.- Info From David Smith

Ky 251 Violet and KY 23 Kincraig

J.E.C.M. KY 23/ KINCRAIG KY 23 Official Number 132791, Built of Wood 1913 by Rose Street Foundry, Inverness. 84.11 GRT 87.2 Ft x 18.25 Ft x 8.95 Ft, 27 H.P. Engine Manufacturer Rose Street Foundry, Inverness. Original name and registration of vessel J.E.C.M. INS367. Bought 1919 by D Jeffery, Alloa, R Jeffery, Henry Davidson, Thomas Cunningham, T Birrell(Gowans) and re reg KY23, in 1923 renamed Kincraig, sold 1930 to Peterhead rereg PD70. Requisitioned 1915-1919 as a patrol vessel with 6 pounder. Year scrapped 1950

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is KY-25-Lasher-Colour-1024x623.jpg

LASHER KY 25 Official Number 131881. Built of Steel 1920 by Alexander Hall, Aberdeen 96 GRT 86.2 Ft x 18.5 Ft x 9.2 Ft. 43 H.P. Engine Manufacturer Alexander Hall, Aberdeen. Original name and registration of vessel HMD Lasher. Bought in 1921 by J Barclay and J Brunton Cellardyke later share holders Wilson Brinton, J Brunton Jnr, Annie Brunton. 1946 vessel sold to Gardenstown, rereg BF 79, then FR 567, 1949 LT 408 in 1952 renamed Golden Ring LT408, requisitioned 1941-1946 on harbour duties. Year scrapped 1957

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is KY-27-A-522-Fifeness-1924--1024x626.jpg

FIFENESS KY 27 Official Number 144786. Built of Steel 1918 by J Lewis and Sons Aberdeen . 97 GRT 85.8 Ft x 18.6 Ft x 9.2 Ft, 43 H.P. Engine Manufacturer Lewis Torry Vessel. Original name and registration of vessel HMD Snowdrift. First fished as Fifeness A 522, Sold 1923 to Ethel Irvin Cellardyke and Aberdeen ( R Irvin and sons), sold 1937 to Peterhead renaimed George G Baird PD 256, Irvins had managing ownership until scrapping in 1957. Requistioned harbour duties WW2. Year scrapped 1955

Thorntree KY 33

THORNTREE KY 33 Official Number 137640, Built of Steel 1918 by J Lewis and Sons Aberdeen . 97 GRT 85.8 Ft x 18.6 Ft x 9.2 Ft. 34 H.P. Engine Manufacturer J Lewis Torry Original name and registration of vessel HMD Mirage. First fished as Thorntree GN 73 bought 1924 by J B Graham Cellardyke and Adam Vyse Shields. Re reg KY 33. Sold 1927 to Eyemouth renamed Rehoboth BK 271, 1929 Mary and Jane BK271, sold 1940 to Lowestoft renamed Jackora LT 129″ Year scrapped 1955

Stella Aurorae KY 45

STELLA AURORAE KY 45 Official Number 131875. Built of Steel 1920 by Lea Shipbuilding Co, Canning Town London, 96 GRT 86.2 Ft x 18.5 Ft x 9.3 Ft. 42 H.P. Engine Manufacturer D & R Scott Dundee. Original name and registration of vessel HMD Whirlblast . Bought to Cellardyke in 1920 by J Watson and D Watson, renamed Stella Aurorae KY 45 sold 1925 to Fraserburgh rereg FR 54, sold 1929 to Lowestoft renamed Abiding Friend LT 116, sold 1938 to Milford Haven renamed Jackeye LT116, requistioned as a Minesweeper WW2. Year scrapped 1955. This vessel was given the latin name, as their previous drifter the Morning Star had been sold but the new owner kept theat name on the vessel, the family had sailing fifies also called Morning Star.

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is KY-48-Pilot-Star-2.jpg

PILOT STAR KY 48 Official Number 145554, Built of Steel 1919-1920 By Chambers Lowestoft. 96 GRT 86.2 Ft x 18.5 Ft x 9.3 Ft. 42 H.P. Engine Manufacturer Crabtree Gt Yarmouth. Original name and registration of vessel HMD Drizzle. First fished as Drizzle LH290 sold 1923 to Lowestoft renamed Pilot Star LT 1060. Bought 1925 by D Smith, P Gardner Provost W C Carstairs, John T Graham , sold 1945″ Year scrapped 1952

SCOTS GREYS KY 52 Official Number 102045, Built of Wood 1894 by Union Coopreative Shipbuilding Co, Blyth. 76 GRT 84.5 Ft x 18.3 Ft x 9.4 Ft. 32 H.P. – Engine Manufacturer – Tweedy Bros, North Shields Original name and registration of vessel Scots Greys SN 190 bought 1904 by James Dick (Henderson) and Henry Bett ( Cellardyke). In 1910 sold to Banff Rereg BF 360 , foundered 1912 on homeward voyage from Lowestoft.

JESSIE WATSON KY 52, ANSTER BELLE KY 52, CAMPANULA KY 52, MEMORIA KY 52, Official Number 131873, Built of Steel 1920 by Ouse Shipbuilding Co, Nr Goole 96 GRT 86.2 Ft x 18.5 Ft x 9.2 Ft. 43 H.P. – Engine Manufacturer “Robertson and Orchar, Dundee” Original name and registration of vessel HMD Icefield. Bought 1920 AJW Watson and A Watson Pittenweem, sold 1923 to W Birrell, J Graham, T Graham, John T Graham ,Jnr Cellardyke. Re named Anster Belle, in 1930 same owners, renamed Campanula in 1935 sold to A Gardner and JB Graham and renamed Memoria, 1936. Sold on to Banff rereg BCK109, later renamed Unity, then Ocean Unity, sold 1948 to Yarmouth YH 293 requsitioned WW2 renamed Fenella during war service Year scrapped 1955

UBEROUS KY 62 Official Number 131876, Built of Wood 1918 by J & G Forbes Sandhaven. 91.6 GRT 86.5 Ft x 19.65 Ft x 9.6 Ft. 42 H.P.- Engine Manufacturer R & B Scott Tayport Original name and registration of vessel HMD Flame. Bought 1921 by D Boyter 7 Burnside Tce, Cellardyke, sold 1937 to Peterhead rereg PD 249, requisitioned 1939 as minesweeper lost Lough Foyle 1941.

William Murray.
‘’Dreel Castle’’ in Falmouth.
1919 Royal Navy Reserves Photo from Grandson David Barnett

DREEL CASTLE KY 71 Official Number 125497. Built of Steel 1908 by McKay of Alloa. 97 GRT 86.2 Ft x 18.6 Ft x 8.9 Ft. 32 H.P. – Engine Manufacturer Menzies & Co Leith Vessel Original name and registration of vessel Terfrid LH 41. Built on Spec then hired out to Port Seton and Leith crews. Bought 1910 by T Cunningham, J Sutherland, W Sutherland, R K Richardson, JJ Lister, J B Graham JT Graham. Renamed Dreel Castle KY 71, owned until at least 1924 by the Sutherlands, sold to Buckie BCK 74 served as net vessel with 6 pounder 1915-1919 and minesweper in 1929-45 (nb Terfrid is anagram of Drifter)

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is KY-73.-Cromorna-2-1024x558.jpg

CROMORNA KY 73 Official Number 126980, Built of Steel 1910 by Smiths Dock Middlesborough. 84.61 GRT 82 Ft x 18.4 Ft x 8.7 Ft. 37 H.P. – Engine Manufacturer W V V Ligerwood Coatbridge Vessel. Original name and registration of vessel Cromorna KY73 Built fr Andrew Henderson and others 38 West Forth Street Cellardyke. Owners in 1919 (Andrew and his sons were blown up by a mine in a hired fishing vessel “Jane S” on 14th Aug 1917 ) M Henderson, H Henderson, WG Readdie, WS Bonthron, D Cuthbert, J Tawse. 1925, I Henderson, H Henderson, R Gardner(Doig) G Doig (Bett) W S Bonthron, J T Graham, J Tawse, T M Andreson. Sold in 1928 to Portknockie renamed Lemnos BF 2, 1947 rereg PD 141 , served WW1 and WW2″ Year scrapped 1951. Skipper Robert Gardner was known as “Cromorna” Bob.

DYKER LASSIE KY 75 / RENNYHILL KY75 Official Number 131879, Built of Wood 1920 by Clapton & Sons, Barton on Humber. 95 GRT 86.5 Ft x 20 Ft x 9.9 Ft. 38 H.P. – Engine Manufacturer Great Central Engineering Co, Grimsby. Original name and registration of vessel HMD Fogbank. Completed 7/10/1920, sold 1921 to A Muir (Wood), John Muir (keay) and renamed Dyker Lassie KY75 , in 1923 Sold to R Brown and renamed Renny Hill KY 75. Vessel Scrapped in 1924 as unseaworthy, casing boiler and engine went to building of Refloresco, for same owners, J Muir (Keay) lived 12 Fowler Street, Cellardyke.

SPES AUREA KY 81 Official Number 145547, Built of Steel 1920 by Abdella and Mitchell, Queensferry, Wales. 95.4 GRT 86.1 Ft x 18.5 Ft x 9.3 Ft. 42 H.P. – Engine Manufacturer Abdella and Mitchell, Queensferry Wales. Original name and registration of vessel HMD Fogbreak. First fished as Craighall LH 273, bought byJ Muir Cellardyke and WC Wilson in 1926 renamed Speas Aurea KY81. 1945 sold to Milford Haven rereg LT 72, sold 1948 to Peterhead PD 58, requisitioned WW2 for harbour service duties” Year scrapped 1955

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is KY-94-White-Queen-1024x412.jpg

WHITE QUEEN KY 94 Official Number 106549 built of steel by J Duthie and Co, Aberdeen, yard no 187 as a yacht for J Gordon Stewart ( possibly a retired tea planter), in their Footdee yard, launched 1/5/1897. 108 GRT 92.8 Ft x 18.1 Ft x 8.8 Ft . 38 H.P. Engine Manufacturer – Alexander Hall, Aberdeen. Vessel Built By Duthie Either Aberdeen or Montrose Original name and registration of vessel White Queen A 59 . The boat was converted to fishing in 1899 for Thomas Walker as A 59, bought to Cellardyke Jan 1905 to John Birrell 40 West Forth Street ( He already owned the Edith KY360), 1924 owners J Birrell, R Moncrieff, GM Birrell, J Murray (Moncrieff) W Moncrieff Davidson. 1926 Owners listed in Cockenzie, 1930 owned by Mrs Jessie Rutherford, Leith., retained KY reg. Year scrapped 1934, Pre WW1 the Skipper was Robert Moncrieff . Robert and his wife Mary Moncrieff lived at 40 West Forth St and later moved to 22 Rodger St, Cellardyke. Scrapped 1934

In Oct 1905 she collided with the St Adrian, A reg, and the PD reg Johanna Petrie on the way into Grimsby docks, she suffered no damage but the St Adrian trapped between the two other boats in choppy weather had her bow and bulwark stoved in and a rent amidships.

Photo, Alex Watson

Glasgow Herald 3rd May 1897

A Steel steam pleasure yacht, built to the order of Mr J. Gordon Stewart, Essex, was launched on Saturday from the shipbuilding yard of Messrs J. Duthie, Sons & Co., Aberdeen. The vessel is 102ft. in length all over, 18ft. in breadth, 18ft. 3’in. depth of hold, and 130 tons gross register. She was named the ” White Queen ” by Mrs W. Rae. The yacht will be the first vessel of the kind lighted throughout by acetylene gas. She will be in the Royal London 2nd Royal Hirwich Yacht Clubs, and will be registerad at Aberdeen.

Glasgow Herald, 22nd June 1897

The steam yacht White Queen. built by Messrs John Duthie, Sons & Co., Aberdeen, for Mr Stewart, Calcutta, went on her trial trip yesterday. The vessel, which is in command of Captain Wallace, ran the measured mile in Aberdeen, and attained a speed of about 13 knots an hour. The White Queen will sail to-morrow on a cruise-to Norway and Russia .

Aberdeen Press and Journa,l 20 May 1899

The steam yacht White Queen, built in for Mr Stewart, Newburgh, by Messrs John Duthie, Sons. & Co., has been purchased by Thomas Walker, trawl owner, and to be converted into a steam liner. It is in contemplation by Mr Walker to put the vessel to the herring next season order to test how this branch of the fishing would pay if worked by steam.

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is KY-97-Rothesay-Bay-also-KY611--1024x624.jpg

ROTHESAY BAY KY 97 see ROTHESAY BAY KY 611,

ABDEIL KY 95 Official Number 124705 Wood 1908, built By Millers , Anstruther. 81 GRT 86.9 Ft x 18.9 Ft x 9 Ft. 27 H.P. Engine Manufacturer- Hawthorn, Leith. Original name and registration of vessel Janet Reekie ML 126 Built for William Reekie (Smith) Coal Rd, St Monans, owners 1914-1920 William Reekie, Robert Reekie, David Reekie, Alexamder Reekie and Charles Reekie sold 1921 to WS Bontron Anstruther and L Horsburgh Cellardyke, renamed Abdeil KY 95 requistioned 1915-1919 net vessel with 3 pounder gun

MARE VIVIMUS KY 98 Official Number 124702 Wood 1908, By Millers , Anstruther. 82 GRT 86.8 Ft x 18.9 Ft x 8.9 Ft. 27 H.P. Engine Manufacturer – Hawthorn, LeithOriginal name and registration of vessel Christina Mayes ML 123 Built for John Mayes (Robertson), Braehead. Sold 1921 to W S Bonthron Anstruther, J Anderson (Clunie), R Hastie and sons, North Shields renamed Mare Vivimus KY 98 vessel struck rocks at Inverkeithing on way to Alloa 11/12/1925 and scrapped. Requistioned 1915-1919 Boom defence

ST ADRIAN KY 103 See St Adrian KY 544

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is KY-105-Daisy.jpg

DAISY KY 105 Official Number 119672, Built of Wood 1904, by Wm Geddes Portgordon. 77 GRT 83.9 Ft x 18.3 Ft x 8.6 Ft. 25 H.P. – Engine Manufacturer Lewis Torry . Original name and registration of vessel Daisy BF 1580 bought 1906 by Robert Watson, John Street, Cellardyke, Thos Cunningham. 1923 owners Alex Reid, D Christie, A Rodger, AW Rodger T Davidson, RJ Jefferey, D Jefferey. Sold to Eyemouth 1930 Re registered BK 66. requisitioned as net vessel with 6 pounder. When this vessel was sold to Fife, the Cellardyke Skippers were so impressed Wm Geddes received 7 orders between 1906 and 1908 , another in 1911 and the Ocean Angler was sold second hand to Fife in 1914 too.” Year scrapped 1937

GOLDEN STRAND KY 107 Official Number 131861 Built of Wood 1911, by Wm Geddes Portgordon. 69 GRT 79.6 Ft x 18.3 Ft x 8.7 Ft. 26 H.P. – Engine Manufacturer Miller and Macfie Glasgow. Original name and registration of vessel Golden Strand KY 107. Built for James Stevenson, 64 James Street, Cellardyke, later J Stevenson, A Cunningham and A Murray (Birrell) sold 1920 to Eyemouth reregistered BK 212 foundered off East Anglia 2/11/1927, Requistioned 1915-1919 net vessel with 6 pounder, Pennant 2288.

EVA KY 109 Official Number 96646, Built of Steel, 1893, by Alexander Hall, Aberdeen. 88 GRT 86.6 Ft x 18.6 Ft x 8.8 Ft. 30 H.P. – Engine Manufacturer Alexander Hall, Aberdeen Original name and registration of vessel, Eva A 703. Built as a liner sold 1906 to J Dick Cellardyke, WS Bonthron and W Birrell. Sold 1922 to Grimsby renamed Hermona GY 4 requisitioned 1915-1919 net vessel with 6 pounder AA gun” Year scrapped 1927

COREOPSIS KY 116 Official Number 131862, Built of Steel 1911 by Alexander Hall, Aberdeen. 88 GRT 86.5 Ft x 18.6 Ft x 9 Ft. 39 H.P. – Engine Manufacturer Alexander Hall, Aberdeen. Original name and registration of vessel Coreopsis KY 116. Built for Philip Gardner (Watson) John Gardner ( Ritchie) Alexander Gardner, David Smith (Gardner) William Bonthron and William Goodall (Readdie) sold 1923 to Portessie BCK 433 requistioned and renamaed Coreopsis II 1915-1919, Pennant 2362 as a net vessel with 6 pounder The Officer in charge Lieutennant PS Peat RN awarded DSO, 1939-1945 used for harbour service renamed Olivine. ” Year scrapped 1951

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is KY-122-St-Ayles--1024x648.jpg

ST AYLES KY 122 Official Number 117577, Built of Wood 1906 by Miller’s Anstruther 78 GRT 84.3 Ft x 18.4 Ft x 8.4 Ft. 33 H.P. Engine Manufacturer- John Cran, Leith. Original name and registration of vessel St Ayles KY 122 .Built for John Stewart (Bett), J Barclay ( Murray) R Bett (Murray) requisitioned 1915-1919 as a net vessel with 6 pounder ” Year scrapped 1935

17th August 1906

17th August The steam drifter, St Ayles, launched last week by Mr Miller, was taken in tow to Leith on Monday to be engined by Mr Cran. She is expected to return to Anstruther in a fortnight for the trial trip.

7 September

This new steam drifter, which was launched by Mr Miller three weeks ago, arrived at Anstruther on Tuesday afternoon from Leith, where the engines bad been fitted on board by Messrs Cran & Co. In order to test the engines, it was arranged to make the run down to Anstruther instead of a trip up the Forth. The time was taken as soon as she left Leith pier, and on arriving in Anstruther harbour it was ascertained that the distance had been accomplished in two hours and five minutes, or a speed of fully ten knots an hour, the quickest that any similar vessel had done the distance. Skipper Stewart was highly pleased with the speed of his boat, and with the smoothness with which the engines worked all the way down. It is intended to have another run this afternoon.

Dundee Courier 16th Dec 1929

FIFE FISHING BOAT RETURNS.
SKIPPER’S STORY OF GALE DISASTER
“Help Urgently Required”
The Anstruther drifter St Ayles arrived home from Yarmouth yesterday afternoon. 
In an interview with a Courier and Advertiser representative, Skipper, Mr John Stewart, 16 James Street, Cellardyke, gave a graphic account of the disaster. 
“It was the worst Yarmouth storm, in all my experience”, he said,”and it was really pitiful boats to see some of our boats coming into port. Most of them were very badly damaged in addition to losing their gear. I lost a lot of gear, but fortunately my boat never sustained a scratch.
The Lizzie Hutt, on the other hand had practically everything stripped off her” 
“We went off early on Monday morning. We reached the fishing grounds about eleven o’clock and shot our nets. The storm broke just after dinnertime, and it was very fierce. Some of our boats had wireless but we received the gale warning after we had gone to sea.
Naturally, the people in Yarmouth were in a great state of alarm, and the pier was thick with people when we got back.”
A Few Turned Back. 
“A few of our boats turned before they reached the fishing grounds, one boat, had to turn because the cook, turned ill. Those boats were thereby saved from the fury of the storm. Mr Stewart said there were ten men in his boat. Fortunately, we did not go away with a full gear. We had between 50 and 60 nets, instead of perhaps 70 or 80, he said, but we lost half of our gear easily. There is one man who has come home with only two nets. I had six out of nine either lost or torn.
Mr Stewart said that, had he been able to stay on at Yarmouth, he would have expected to make on an average between £300 and £400. at the fishing,
Thirty nets belonging to his boat have been either lost or torn, representing a sum of almost £150, and as he might have had between £300 or £400 the boat’s total loss is somewhere in the region of £500.
He considered that, as this is just time for the catches to be at their best he would have made  the sum suggested.
Never More Sorry-
“I was never more sorry for anything than having to come away just now” he said “it is the first time I have been home from Yarmouth so early in November for a good many years. Most of the fleet come home near the end of the month and some have returned in early December.
Mr Stewart, sen., said that many a fisherman would have to go back to sea as hired men. That was all they could do. 
” A fisherman needs to have at least twenty nets with him and that costs £100″ he explained.
He stated that help for the fishermen was urgently required, , and said that although the miners had received aid in the past the miners were never  in so sore a plight as the fishermen were now.
Scots boats with good catches –
Although over thirty Scots boats have left Lowestoft for home on a count of their losses of nets and gear in the gale this week, the rest are endeavouring to carry on. They have obtained some nets or patched up their damaged gear and have gone fishing. Already a few have been rewarded for their pluck by good catches, which sold at a fair price …..

VINE KY 127 Official Number 118876, Built of Steel 1904 By Smith’s Dock North Shields. 77 GRT 80 Ft x 18 Ft x 8.3 Ft. 22 H.P. Engine Manufacturer- McColl and Pollack Sunderland. Original name and registration of vessel Vine INS 573. Bought 1911 by David Parker 19 West Forth Street and A Parker, G Barclay. Sold 1919 to Peterhead PD 156, later FR 209, requisitioned WW1 renamed Red Rover as Boom defence and 1940 as Barage Baloon vessel.

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is KY-128.jpg

MORNING STAR II KY 128 Official Number 117578, built of Wood 1906 by Wm Geddes Portgordon, 84 GRT 87.3 Ft x 18.5 Ft x 8.6 Ft 30 H.P. Engine Manufacturer- McKie and Baxter Glasgow. Original name and registration of vessel Morning Star KY128. Built for D Watson, son J Watson, and C Anderson in Admiralty lists J Watson stayed at 47 John Street, 1920 owner T Cunningham, 1922 A Rodger, Rodger Street, Cellardyke, D Jeffery, RJ Jefferey, R D Henry, RH Davidson, Cellardyke. Requisitioned WW1 net vessel with 3 pounder. Year scrapped 1937

David Watson son of Star Jeems Watson. this was the family name for their vessels the last sailing fifie they owned the Morning Star KY 190 was over 70ft, the vessel

East of Fife Record, 17th May 1907

On Saturday morning, an accident of a rather alarming nature occurred in the harbour. The crew of the steam drifter Morning Star, belonging to Skipper David Watson, Cellardyke, made unwelcome discovery on their arrival at the middle pier in the early morning, that during the night their vessel had become submerged at her moorings, where they had left her, as they thought, safe and sound the previous night. The cause of her sinking lay in the fact that an apprentice engineer from Ovenstone, who had been working about the drifter’s engines, had knocked off work, omitting to close the water-cock, with the result that as the tide rose dining the night, the drifter gradually filled and sank. Steps were at once taken to have the water pumped out, and inners’ pumps were requisitioned from local men and also from Messrs Balfour, Ovenstone engineering works. The vessel was soon cleared of the water, and the engines at once coated with oil to prevent them rusting fr, in the contamination with the salt water. The drifter was little the worse for her mishap, and able to proceed to sea early on Monday morning. It was fortunate that there was no one sleeping on hoard, else the accident might have had a more serious termination. The Morning Star is a new boat, and has only prosecuted the fishing about a month.
This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is KY-138-Maggies-1.jpg

MAGGIES KY 138 Official Number 125251. Built of Wood 1907, by Miller’s Anstruther. 85 GRT 85.8 Ft x 18.5 Ft x 8.8 Ft. 33 H.P. Engine Manufacturer – John Cran Leith. Original name and registration of vessel Maggies KY 138. Built for Alexander Gardner, John Gardner, Philip Gardner, Cellardyke – 1912-17 Philip Gardner 17 West Forth Street. The vessel was requisitioned in WW1 as a net vessel with 6 pounder, 1923 -25 P Gardner, D Smith (Gardner) M Smith, J Reid Cellardyke. 1925 John T Graham Thordisa Anstruther, Wm Patterson St Monance, W Fortune. Year scrapped 1936

8th Dec 1906

8th December, Launch – On Saturday afternoon, Mr Miller Shipbuilder, launched a steam drifter to the Order of the Messrs Gardner, Cellardyke. The vessel was named The Maggies. The dimensions are 85feet of keel, 18 feet 6 inches breadth of beam, and 8 feet 6 inches depth. The engines are to be fitted by Messrs Cran of Leith. Mr Miller has orders on hand for five of the same dimensions, at a cost of £2500 each. For Anstruther alone, about a dozen new steam drifters are being built or on order.

East of Fife Record, 5th April 1907

On Monday afternoon, the compasses of the new drifter, The Maggies, belonging to the Messrs Gardner, Cellardyke, were adjusted, and shortly after a large crowd of people had the pleasure of enjoying a trip round the May Island and Bass Rock. About 200 were on board, and the sail was greatly enjoyed, the weather being fine although hazy. In coming back a speed of 10 knots was accomplished. The owners expressed highly satisfied with the speed and workmanship of the vessel. 
This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is KY-139-Scot-1024x652.jpg

SCOTT KY 139 Official Number 115104, Built of Steel 1903 by Smiths Dock North Shields. 79 GRT 80 Ft x 18.1 Ft x 8.3 Ft. 22 H.P. Engine Manufacturer – McColl and Pollack Sunderland. Original name and registration of vessel Scot WK 608. Bought 1912 by Henry Bett ( Powers) Fowler Street, Thomas Bett, Henry Bett Jnr, Annie Bett, Agnes Bett, Elizabeth Bett, Alexandrina Bett all Cellardyke. Requisitioned WW1 1915-1919 Net vessel with 6 pounder renamed Scot II , NB this vessel also fished Seine net. Year scrapped 1936/37

PLOUGH KY 140 Official Number 131865. Built of Steel 1912 by Alexander Hall, Aberdeen. 95 GRT 86.4 Ft x 18.6 Ft x 9.2 Ft. 39 H.P. Engine Manufacturer – Alexander Hall, Aberdeen. Original name and registration of vessel Plough KY 140. Built for H Gardner, Martin Gardner jnr, John Gardner, Thomas Gardner. 1913 managing owner Martin Gardner Jnr Fowler Street, Cellardyke, 1919 owners as built. Sold to Irvin and Johnson Cape town, South Africa 1921 in 1926 owners Kerguelen Sealing and Whaling Co Ltd, Fish Quay Docks, Cape town.

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is KY-160-Camperdown-BF927-later-BCK-423-INS.54.jpg

CAMPERDOWN KY 150 Official Number 125830 Built of Steel 1907by J Duthie, Torry Shipbuilding Co, Aberdeen. 97 GRT 84.2 Ft x 18.1 Ft x 8.8 Ft. 28 H.P. – Engine Manufacturer Abernethy of Aberdeen. Original name and registration of vessel Camperdown BF927 Bought 1912 by J Muir ( Keay) 12 Fowler Street and Alexander Muir, 1923 sold to Buckie BCK423, sold again 1930 INS 54 Requisitioned 1915-1919 submarine net vessel with 3 Pounder, Pennant 2136.” Year scrapped 1936/7

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is KY-162-Unity.jpg

Crew of the Unity David Corstorphine is on the far left, with his son William crouching in front. Photo from Jimmy Corstorphine great grandson of David Corstorphine

UNITY KY 162 Official Number 125254. Built of Wood 1907 by Robertson St Monance. 80 GRT 86 Ft x 18.4 Ft x 8.4 Ft. 30 H.P. – Engine Manufacturer John Lewis and Sons Aberdeen. Original name and registration of vessel Unity KY 162. Built for D Corstorphine, A Stevenson, C Marr, T Stewart and T Cuningham. Requisitioned 1915-1919 Pennant no 2126 used for net vessel and water carrier renamed Unity II in May 1915″ Year scrapped 1936

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is KY-163-Noontide_Scrapping.jpg

Noontide KY 163 breaking 1960, For destail of the vessel see KY 6 ( there are multiple other photos of the Noontide across this site hence showning one of her breaking here)

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is KY-163-Primrose-crew-1024x653.jpg

PRIMROSE KY 163 Official Number 125255, Built of Wood 1907 by Miller’s Anstruther. 87 GRT 86.7 Ft x 18.6 Ft x 8.8 Ft. 33 H.P. – Engine Manufacturer John Cran Leith Vessel Original name and registration of vessel Primrose KY 163. Built for Robert Melville, G Melville, Thomas Melville, John Todd Dawson, W Fowler Dawson, Thomas Hodges, Dusan Davison and Lizzie Donaldson. Whilst acting as a herring carrier 15/8/1933 the vessel became stranded on the Mull f Kintyre and became a total loss. Requisitioned 1915-1919 as net vessel with 3 pounder. renamed Primrose II from 11/8/1915

17th May

Letters were read from the agents of the Buckhaven skipper, who at last meeting claimed for damage done to his boat’s stem when the launching of the drifter Primrose took place, Messrs Wilkie, Youden, & Bruce, stating that their client had given them instructions to prosecute his claim The boat left the harbour after receiving instructions from the harbourmaster, and fouling with other vessels bad to turn back again in order to get into position when she was struck by the drifter, in consequence of which, was unable to proceed to sea that night. The skipper did not receive notice from the harbour master that the launch was to take place immediately, and the necessary care was not exercised. Perhaps Mr Miller who launched the vessel was responsible to some extent. Their client claimed £8 for the stem and £10 for the loss of a night’s fishing. Should the Harbour Commission not settle the claim seven days prosecution would follow. The Clerk said he did not reply to the above, end another letter was received, stating that Mr Miller had disclaimed all responsibility for the accident, and there appeared to be nothing for it but to raise an action for the damage Mr Deas had sustained. No reply was sent to the second letter, and a third communication was sent to the effect, that the skipper was leaving shortly, and it would be inconvenient to raise an action meanwhile. He would be back however, in September, when, unless the account was forthcoming an action would be taken. Mr Mortis said the harbourmaster had allowed the skipper to proceed, but he had turned back on his own responsibility. He should have lain at the east pier till he had a chance to come back again. Be must have known there was to be a launch from the crowds on the pier. The Commission agreed to let the matter alone.

1st June

Trial trip of the S S Primrose

The Steam Drifter Primrose built some time ago by Mr Miller Anstruther, and owned by Messrs Robert Melville & Sons , Cellardyke which has been engine at Leith By Messrs Cran & Co, underwent a speed and sea worthy trial in the Firth of Forth on Tuesday, when in a run from Leith to the Forth Bridge and back a speed of 11 knots was obtained, great satisfaction being expressed by the owners, who brought the vessels down to Anstruther on Wednesday where she is now being prepared for prosecuting the early herring fishing.

FAIRHAVEN KY 173 Official Number 139892. Built of Steel 1918 By W J Brooke & Co Oulton Broad. 97.31 GRT 86.2 Ft x 18.5 Ft x 9.3 Ft. 42 H.P. – Engine Manufacturer, North British Works, Glasgow. Original name and registration of vessel HMD Sleet. First fished as Sleet SN 47, sold 1924 to Eyemouth renamend Eyedale BK 5, 1930 renamed Consolation, sold 1948 to Peterhead renamed Fairhaven PD 75, bought 1953 by P Gardner re reg KY 173 requistioned WW2 as Mine sweeper” Year scrapped 1956

CURRENT/ COPIOUS KY 175 Official Number 139888. Built of Steel 1919 by Chambers Lowestoft. 96 GRT 86.2 Ft x 18.5 Ft x 9.3 Ft. 42 H.P. – Engine Manufacturer Chambers Lowestoft. Original name and registration of vessel HMD Current. First fished 1920 as Current SN 43, bought 1922. by A Gardner, J Gardner, J T Graham and WC Wilson. 1924 Philip Gardner added to owners and name changed to Copious, Gardners owned it until 1939 when owners listed as James Wilson 28 Fowler Street with WC Wilson.The vessel was requisitioned 1939-45 as submarine vessel. 1945 sold to Boston Deep Sea Fishing Co Fleetwood renamed Ocean Hunter YH 296 later LT 322, Scrapped Belgium, 1955

EAST NEUK KY 176 See East Neuk KY 546

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is KY-178-Integrity-crew-1024x641.jpg

INTEGRITY KY 178 Official Number 125257. Built of Wood 1907 by Miller Anstruter. 86 GRT 86.2 Ft x 18.4 Ft x 9 Ft. 33 H.P. Engine Manufacturer John Cran, Leith. Original name and registration of vessel Integrity KY178. Built for G Anderson, W Martin, P Murray, Cellardyke, Sold 1913 to W Martin 3 John Street and P Murray, sold 1924 to Tynemouth retained KY registry sold again Eyemouth 1929 rereg BK 28 scrapped 1939. The vessel was requisitioned as net vessel with 6 Pounder 1915-1919

3rd April

Launch at Anstruther – Mr Miller, yesterday afternoon launched a steam drifter to the order of Skipper George Anderson, Cellardyke. This is the fifth vessel launched since last August, and other three are to be built. The drifter was named Integrity by a niece of the owner. The dimensions are the same as the others. 85 feet in length, 18 feet beam, and depth of hold 9 feet. The engines are being made by Messrs Cran, Leith

WHITE ROSE KY 179 Official Number 112907, Built of Wood 1900 by J & W Macintosh, Ianstown Buckie. 94 GRT 87.2 Ft x 19.3 Ft x 10.1 Ft. 30 H.P. – Engine Manufacturer, Clyne & Mitchell Aberdeen. Original name and registration of vessel White Rose A 149. Built as a liner bought 1913 by J Muir(Watson) 4 West Forth Street, Cellardyke, sold 1922 to Grimsby renamed Silverna GY 41. Requisitioned 1915-1919 as Anti Aircraft and Net vessel, Pennant 1258. Year scrapped 1929

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is KY-185-Agnes-Gardner-and-Calliopsis.jpg

AGNES GARDNER KY 185 Official Number 144791, Built of Steel 1920 by Ouse Shipbuilding Co, Nr Goole. 96 GRT 86.2 Ft x 18.5 Ft x 9.2 Ft. 42 H.P. – Engine Manufacturer Pollit and Wigzell, Sowery Bridge Yorkshire. Original name and registration of vessel HMD Radiation. First fished as Radiation A21, bought to Cellardyke 1922, by John Gardner, George Melville, T Melville and WC Wilson, renamed Agnes Gardner KY 185 sold 1945 to Northern Trawlers London kept KY Reg, sold 1948 to Peterhead for reputed £3200 rereg PD 295. Requistioned WW2 harbour service vessel” Year scrapped 1952.

When the Gardner family built a 97ft wooden great line vessel at Smith and Huttons in 1957 they named it Radiation A 115 after this vessel.

Skipper John Gardner with his wife Agnes (Nee Stewart) who the Agnes Gardner was named after. The boy standing at the back is Alex Gardner ( big Sam) later to be skipper of the Radiation, and the boy at the front later John Gardner, skipper of the Brighter Hope. Bobby Gardner is in his mothers arms. This photo was taken about 1915. John snr served at Galli[polli – photo and info from Pamela Hughes granddaughter of John Gardner.
John Gardner in front of the wheelhouse hands in pocket, His son Eck in front of the coal similar stance
This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is KY-189-Evening-Star-1024x538.jpg

EVENING STAR KY 189 Official Number 125258. Built of Wood 1907 By James Miller’s of Anstruther. 89 GRT 86.8 Ft x 18.8 Ft x 8.9 Ft. 35 H.P. – Engine Manufacturer Hawthorn Leith. Original name and registration of vessel Evening Star KY 189. Built for Robert Hughes 25 East Forth Street, Cellardyke. Later owners Robt Hughes, R Hughes Jnr, J Hughes, D Wilson, Requistioned 1915-1919 net vessel with 57mm gun, renamed Evening Star II ” Year scrapped 1935

14th June

Another steam drifter was launched from the east ways at Mr Miller’s yard at high water on Tuesday afternoon. The vessel, which is the ninth launched by Mr Miller since last August, has been built to the order of Skipper Robert Hughes, Cellardyke. Fine weather favoured the proceedings, and a large crowd of spectators assembled to witness the launch. As the vessel slid gracefully down the ways into the water she was christened the “Evening Star” by Miss Jessie Watson, grand-daughter of the owner. The building of the vessel has been accomplished with the strongest material and best workmanship, her dimensions are as follows:- 86 feet keel, 20 feet beam, and 9 feet depth of hold. Her graceful model has been the subject of much favourable criticism on the part of fishermen and others. After receiving the final touches from the carpenters, she is to be towed to Leith, where she will be engined by Messrs Hawthorn & Co. The next keel to be laid is that of a steam drifter for Skipper Henry Bett, Cellardyke. The Venus, the last drifter launched at Anstruther, was towed to Leith on Saturday to be engined by Messrs Cran. The Integrity, belonging to the Skipper George Anderson, Cellardyke, has been for the past few weeks undergoing her engine fittings at the hands of the latter firm, and is expected down shortly.

Acorn KY 194 photo courtesy of Andrew Gardner
Acorn Mairt, Martin Gardner, photo courtesy of Andrew Gardner

ACORN KY 194 Official Number 137618, Built of Steel 1919 by Alexander Hall, Aberdeen. 96.45 GRT 86.2 Ft x 18.5 Ft x 9.2 Ft. 42 H.P. Engine Manufacturer – Alexander Hall, Aberdeen.Original name and registration of vessel HMD Pampero. First fished as Edalba YH 218, sold t 1922 to Martin Gardner, Burnside Place renamed Acorn KY 214. 1939 owners Martin Gardner 29 James Street, Margaret Carstairs, WC Wilson, sold 1945 to United Nations Refugee Relief Agency on loan to Poland SYWERIUZ GDY 114 sold 1948 to Easton Lowestoft Acorn LT31, sold 1955 to Canada where a PD crew fished her for two years Scrapped sometime betweem 61 and 1975. The vessel was requisitioned 1939-1946 on harbour duties

1924 – Henry Gardner (62), part owner and retired Skipper of the steam drifter Acorn, died suddenly while working on a mizzen sail on the Middle pier in Anstruther.

1933 Mr David Christie, fisherman, 26 Rodger Street, Cellardyke, has been appointed chief coxswain of Anstruther lifeboat in succession the late Mr Martin Gardner. Mr Christie has been member of the lifeboat crew for a number of years, and has acted recently as bowman. He has been connected with the fishing industry all his life, and is recognised as a skilful and capable seaman. . Mr M. Gardner (Thomson), skipper of the Acorn, has been appointed bowman in succession to Mr Christie.

1957

The death occurred at his home, 29 James Street Cellardyke, on Sunday of Councillor Martin Gardner. He was 64 and had been ill for some time. Councillor Gardner., though one of the youngest serving members on Anstruther Town Council was one of the oldest serving, members of the local lifeboat crew., He was a former coxswain and was known and respected by fishermen up and down the country. –

He himself belonged to a fishing family and was a fisherman until his retiral four years ago, when he first entered the field of local government.

As skipper of the Acorn, he put to sea for many years, and his experience was unquestioned among the younger men. He was a member of Anstruther Harbour Commission and a former chairman of Anstruther branch of the Herring Producers’ Association.

He became a member of the Anstruther Lifeboat crew when he was 18 and he was officer and coxswain for 20 years, taking part in many real-life sea dramas and cues. Most stirring amongst these perhaps was the recent disaster of the Arbroath lifeboat. It was largely because of his fine seamanship that the Anstruther boat survived.

He was a Freemason, an elder of Cellardyke Church. and a founder member of the local branch of the British Legion.

Councillor Gardner is survived by his wife, one son and two daughters. The funeral will take place today, and the Town Council will attend.

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is KY-199-Venus-1.jpg

VENUS II KY 199 Official Number 125260. Built of Wood 1907 by James Miller’s of Anstruther. 87 GRT 84.5 Ft x 18.7 Ft x 8.8 Ft. 33 H.P. Engine Manufacturer – John Cran, Leith. Original name and registration of vessel Venus II KY 199. Built for, William Smith (Murray) 41 James Street, Cellardyke, P Murray (Jack), J Martin, J Barclay (Ritchie). The vessel was lost in collision with a Grimsby Trawler off Flamborough head 22/8/1929 Requisitioned 1915-1919 net vessel with 8 pounder

31st May 1907

Another successful launch of a steam drifter took place on Wednesday afternoon from Mr Miller’s yard here. The weather was ideal, and a good crowd had collected to witness the ceremony, which was carried out at high tide. As the vessel left the ways, she was christened the Venus by Mrs Smith, wife of one of the owners. The drifter was the subject of much admiration, being a good model, and strongly built from the best materials. Her dimensions are—length 85 feet, breadth 18 feet, and depth 10 feet. As soon as her rigging and cordage are fitted on, the vessel is to proceed to Leith, where she will be engined by Messrs Cran & Co. The other drifter, at present pretty well advanced, is to be launched in a fortnight, the owner being Skipper Robert Hughes, after which another two keels will be laid immediately, one a trawler for the Belgian Government, and the other a drifter for Skipper Henry Bett, Cellardyke.

Defensor KY 208 see Bene Vertat KY20

ALICES/ DAWNAWAY KY 210 Official Number 125259, Built of Wood 1907 by Wm Geddes Portgordon. 84 GRT 85.8 Ft x 18.5 Ft x 9.2 Ft. 21 H.P. Engine Manufacturer – Cooper and Greig Dundee Original name and registration of vessel Alices KY 210. built for Henry Bett, 11 Shore Street, W Bett and J Bett. Vessel sold 1931 to Provost Carstairs renamed Dawnaway, 1931-1937 owners James Davidson, Robert Davidson, WW Carstairs, Rebecca Watson. Requisitioned 1915-1919 as Hydro Training Ship with 6 Pounder” Year scrapped 1937

MAGDALEN KY 217 Official Number 126967. Built of Steel 1907 by Dundee Shipbuilding Co. 94 GRT 86 Ft x 18.6 Ft x 8.7 Ft, 37 H.P. Engine Manufacturer-Vaux and Co Sunderland Original name and registration of vessel Magdalen KY 217 built for W Leask and John Hughes 33 Midshore Pittenweem. Bought 1919 by T Bett, W Bett, B Bett, Cellardyke and David Jeffery Alloa. Requisitioned 1915-1919 mine sweeper and net vessel with 6 pounder. Wrecked either 1922 or 1924 at Hartlepool.

PRIDE O’ FIFE KY 218 Official Number 126968 Built of Wood 1907 by Wm Geddes Portgordon. 83 GRT 85.5 Ft x 18.5 Ft x 9 Ft. 24 H.P. Engine Manufacturer – Lewis Torry Original name and registration of vessel, Pride o Fife KY 218. Built for John Watson Cellardyke, later J Watson, T Cunningham, A N Cunningham, G Watson, S Watson, J Watson (Gardner) J Watson (Hutt) T Davidson. 1935 ownership was recorded as – James Watson , Marine Engineer, Toll Rd, Jessie Cunningham Davidson 34 Rodger St, Alex Cunningham Anchor Lodge Anstruther. Sold 1940 to become coatal trading vessel Orkney. Requisitioned 1915-1919 mine sweper and net vessel with 6 pounder” Year scrapped 1945/7

2nd August 1907

ANOTHER STEAM DRIFTER FOR ANSTRUTHER. To the 19 steam drifters already belonging to Anstruther, there has been added another. A successful launch took place at Port Gordon last Thursday, when a new steam drifter, built by Mr William Geddes, Port Gordon, to the order of Skipper John Watson (Salter). Cellardyke, was consigned to the water. The vessel, which is finely modelled and substantially built, was christened the Pride 0′ Fife by the daughter of the owner, and she will be towed to Aberdeen to be engined with compound engines of 160 h.p. by Messrs Lewis & Son, Aberdeen.

Salter Watson son of John Watson (Salter), Skipper of the Pride of Fife, The name board behind his head probably came from one of the earlier vessels called Pride o’ Fife. possibly the 68ft Fifie built by Fultons of Pittenweem in 1900 registered KY200.

23rd August 1907

THE NEW STEAM DRIFTER PRIDE O’ FIFE.— On Saturday, the new steam drifter Pride o’ Fife, built by Mr Geddes, Port Gordon, and engined at Aberdeen, to the order of Skipper John Watson. George Street, Cellardyke, arrived at Anstruther from Aberdeen. Gear and stores were at once put on board, and the Pride o’ Fife left for the fishing grounds on Monday morning with the rest of the fleet.

2nd April 1913

FIFE SKIPPER’S SMART PERFORMANCE SAVES TWO BOATS FROM GOING THE ROCKS AT EYEMOUTH. Sheriff Armour Hannay, at Cupar yesterday, gave judgment in the salvage actions, raised by James Hutt, fisherman, St Monans, skipper of the steam drifter Lizzie Hutt, and others, against John Watson, fisherman, George’s Street, CeJlardyke, skipper of the steam drifter Pride of Fife, and against Robert Davidson, fisherman, Shore Street, Cellardyke, skipper of the sailing fishing boat Guide Me, for £430 and £100 respectively for salvage services rendered in Eyemouth Bay September 4. 1912. The defence was that the services rendered were towage services, customary for Fife fishermen to render to each other when their vessels were in difficulties. His Lordship finds as a matter of law that the services rendered by the Lizzie Hutt were salvage services; assesses the same at £250 in case of the Pride of Fife and £50 in the of the Guide Me respectively; apportions the total sum of £300 as follows:—£150 to be paid to the owners, £50 to the skipper (James Hutt), and £100 to the remaining eight of the crew in equal shares, and accordingly; refuses the motion to apportion the aforesaid sum of £300 between the services; rendered in saving life and those rendered in salving property. Pursuer gets expenses on the higher scale. In the note attached to the interlocutor; his Lordship says:—”Or September 3, 1912,, the sailing fishing boat Guide Me of Cellardyke, was towed into the anchorage at Eyemouth Bay in a helpless oondition with split foresail. She anchored under the lee of the land, but shortly afterwards the rope which was attached to the anchor broke, and she began to drift towards the Hettle Scar rocks. “The steam drifter Pride of Fife, also from; Cellardyke, was coming into the roadstead, and was hailed for assistance. She came, and, with the Guide Me in tow, steamed to the weather side of the anchorage, and both vessels then let go their anchors, this time, Guide Me using a chain. Both began to drag, and by the time the Lizzie passed them they were close to the Scar rocks and in a position of great danger. ” I have accordingly no difficulty holding that the services rendered by the Lizzie Hutt were salvage services, and I would add they seem by the evidence to have been performed in a smart and seamanlike manner by the skipper, James Hutt.” For pursuers—Mr T. D. Murray, solicitor. Anstruther: for defenders—Mr James Brown, Messrs Mclntosh & Watson, Anstruther).

OLIVE LEAF KY 220/ CASIMIR ML 42. Official Number 126969 Built of Wood 1907 by Robertson St Monans. 82 GRT 86.46 Ft x 18.5 Ft x 8.6 Ft x 25 H.P. Engine Manufacturer ? Torry. Original name and registration of vessel Olive Leaf KY 220 Built for William Smith (Bruce) 6 Rodger Street Cellardyke also, James Smith (Watson)32 West Forth St, David Smith ( Cunningham) 28 Rodger St, David Dick (Smith) 6 Rodger St, and John Cunningham (Smith 50 George St.) Sold to Pittenweem Date? Pre 1926, David Black 17 Abbey Wall Rd, then 1926 to John Smith, David Smith and George Mair St Monans renamed Casimir ML 42, requisitioned 1915-1919 net vessel with 6 pounder, vessel lost East Anglia 1931.

2nd August 1907
There was launched from the building yard of Messrs John Robertson (Innes) & Co., on Saturday afternoon, a steam drifter built to the order of Mr William Smith (Bruce), and others, Cellardyke. The launch was successfully accomplished at high water. As the craft left the ways she was named the Olive Leaf by Miss Robina Cunningham, a sister of one of the joint owners. Her dimtnsions are—length of keel, 84 feet: 92 feet over all; 18 feet 9 inches beam; and 9 feet 8 inches depth of hold. A large number of people were present and witnessed the launch. The Olive Leaf is a very finely finished piece of work, and is of the most upto-date model. Messrs Robertson (Innes.) & Co. have built several drifters, which have proved very successful, and have given their owners the utmost satisfaction. This is the last that Messers Robertson (Innes) & Co. have on order. The Olive Leaf is to be engined by Messrs Lewis & Son. Aberdeen, who engined the former built by Messrs Robertson Innes & Co., and whose engines have proved most succsesful.

Fishing No. KY220. Official no 126868
Compound. 25hp. 1-Screw. John Lewis & Sons Ltd., Aberdeen

1919 David Black, Pittenweem.
1926 John & David Smith, St Monance. Registered Methil. ML42
1926 CASIMIR
04/1015-1910. WW1. Admiralty Service. Net vessel.

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is KY-223-Calliopsis-1024x683.jpg

CALIOPSIS KY 223 Official Number 144788, Built of Steel 1920 by Rose Street Foundry, Inverness” 97 GRT 86.3 Ft x 18.5 Ft x 9.3 Ft x 42 H.P. Engine Manufacturer “Rose Street Foundry, Inverness. Original name and registration of vessel HMD Nebula. First fished as Nacre A 410 sold to Buckie 1923 as Sea Toiler BCK 14. Bought in 1928 By David Watson (Master), Peter Murray (Mate) William Brunton Wilson ( Skipper of Cassiopeaia) W C Wilson Whitlety Bay, renamed Calliopsis KY223, sold to Milford Haven 1945 rereg LT92, requisitionedd WW2 on hrabour service. Year scrapped 1955

This boat was requistioned in WW2 and on the end of hostilities Skipper Peter Murray refused to have her back as she was worn out “just like an auld baffy” His daughter Mary was a volunteer at the Scottish Fisheries Musuem and published her fathers notes fom this vessel “The Skippers Notebook” .

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is KY224-Mace-1024x724.jpg

MACE KY 224 Official Number 132181, Built of Steel 1919 by Alexander Hall, Aberdeen. 96 GRT 86.2 Ft x 18.5 Ft x 9.2 Ft 42 H.P. Engine Manufacturer Alexander Hall, Aberdeen. Original name and registration of vessel HM D Thunderclap. First fished as Zena and Ella BCK 321, bought 1923 by Martin Gardner 8 Fowler Street Cellardyke, R Gardner, M Gardner Jnr, 1939 owner listed as Annie Gardner. Sold 1945 to UNRRA and loaned to Poland, renamed Eusebiusz GDY 113 sold 1948 to A Easton and others Lowestoft Mace LT 35, Broken up in Belgium” Year scrapped 1955/6

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is KY-228-Norman-Wilson.jpg

NORMAN WILSON KY 228 Official Number 140843, Built of Steel 1919 by Alexander Hall, Aberdeen. 96 GRT 86.2 Ft x 18.5 Ft x 9.2 Ft. 42 H.P. Engine Manufacturer – Alexander Hall, Aberdeen. Original name and registration of vessel HMD Tidal Wave. First fished as Tidal Wave BF 604, then Sophia S Summers PD379. Bought to Cellardyke, by WC Wilson, A Gardner and J Gardner, Cellardyke. Other owners until 1945 Philip Gardner, RM Gardner, LR Gardner and R McM Gardner and Sold 1945 to Milfordhaven, Requisitioned during WW2 as a barage baloon vessel Year scrapped 1956

MENAT KY 232 / PLOUGH KY 232 Official Number 145552, Built of Steel 1920 by Abdella and Mitchell, Queensferry Wales. 95 GRT 86.1 Ft x 18.5 Ft x 9.3 Ft. 42 H.P. Engine Manufacturer-Abdella and Mitchell, Queensferry Wales. Original name and registration of vessel HMD Foam. First fished as Starwort LH 288, bought 1923 by Martin Gardner 18 Fowler Street, Robert Gardner and Martin Gardner Jnr renamed Menat KY232, 1934-38 renamed Plough, KY232, 1939-1940 owner Rachel Gardner, Sunnyside Williamson Pl Cellardyke, sold 1945 to Fleetwood retained KY reg, foundered 1948 Requisitioned WW2 harbour service.

SEA REAPER KY 245 Official Number 125370. Built of Steel 1918 by Alexander Hall, Aberdeen. 95.67 GRT 86.2 Ft x 18.5 Ft x 9.2 Ft. 42 H.P. Engine Manufacturer Alexander Hall, Aberdeen. Original name and registration of vessel HMD Flicker. First fished as Mary Watt FR 217 then Sea Reaper PD396. Bought 1948 by J Muir snr as Sea Reaper KY 245 in 1954. went to lines – requisitioned 1941-1946 harbour duties Year scrapped 1956 owned by the Muirs for a short time while their new line boat was built .

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is KY-251-Violet-2.jpg

VIOLET II KY 251 Official Number 126690. Built of Wood 1907 by Wm Geddes Portgordon. 84 GRT 85.7 Ft x 18.5 Ft x 9 Ft. 21 H.P. Engine Manufacturer – Cooper and Greig Dundee. Original name and registration of vessel Violet KY 251. Built for William Watson, Cellardyke, Thomas Davidson, Thomas Stevenson, Robert Anderson requisitioned 1915-1919 net vessel with 6 pounder, last owners William Watson, Robert Anderson, John Simpson, Thomas Buchan, Alexander Cunningham 1938″ Year scrapped 1938 at North Queensferry

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is KY-253-Breadwinner-1024x615.jpg

BREADWINNER KY 253 Official Number 126972. Built of Wood 1907 By James Miller’s Anstruther. 88 GRT 86.6 Ft x 19 Ft x 8.8 Ft. 36 H.P. Engine Manufacturer – Hawthorn Leith Original name and registration of vessel Breadwinner KY253. Built for Henry Bett (Powers) Fowler Street, then H Bett, J Bett and T Bett. Sold 1939 to Portgordon kept its KY reg, sold 1944 to St Combs, still KY reg, requistioned 1915-1919 as a net vessel with 6 pounder. The skipper Henry Bett who died in 1990s was the last Scottish pre war steam drifter skipper, he latterly was a fish buyer in Aberdeen, Served as a Skipper Lieutennant in the RN Year scrapped 1946/8

13th September 1907

The steam drifter Breadwinner, just built by Mr Miller, to the order of Henry Bett, Cellardyke, was launched at high water on ‘Wednesday afternoon in the presence of a large number of spectators. Miss Bett, the daughter of the owner, performed the christening ceremony. The drifter is somewhat different in model, and is a little broader than the others the dimensions being;- Length 86 feet, breadth of beam 19 feet, and depth of hold 9ft . All the latest improvements are I being inserted, and after some further work the Breadwinner will be taken to Leith next week to have her engines fitted by and by Messrs Hawthorn & Co. The drifter is to be ready to proceed to Yarmouth by the beginning of October.

HIEDRA KY 276 Official Number 126973. Built of Wood 1908 by Wm Geddes Portgordon 78 GRT 86.3 Ft x 18.4 Ft x 8.8 Ft . 25 H.P. Engine Manufacturer – Lewis Torry. Original name and registration of vessel Hiedra KY 276 Cellardyke “Built for Thomas Murray (Stevenson) Cellardyke, 1912 part sold to Wilson Birrell 50 John Street and J Wilson ( Keay) additional owners 1914 William Gardner ( Burgan) Thos Davidson. Sold 1919 to Buckie rereg BCK 348, requisitioned 1915-1919 as a patrol boat, 1937 vessel sold for scrap but beached on the “Roarings” between Ianstown Buckie and Portessie, broken up there, the boiler was still visible in 2015″ Year scrapped 1937

Newspaper reports Dec 1907 call her IVY however the name she fished under was HIEDRA which is Spanish for IVY

Portgordon- On Tuesday at 2.30 Mr Geddes set afloat successfully another drifter of similar dimensions, and also a counterpart of the former vessel in painting and decoration—black with brown underbody relieved by gold lines. This drifter, named the Ivy, is owned by Messrs James Smith, Wm. Gardner, and Thomas Murray, fishermen, Cellardyke. The christening ceremony was performed, before a goodly company, by Miss M. Smith, Cellardyke, who was made the recipient by the builder of a gold watch. The Ivy was taken to Portgordon harbour to await towing to Aberdeen, where she will have her engines installed by Messrs Clyne, Mitchell & Co.

Yesterday afternoon the two new drifters Laurel Bank and Ivy left for Dundee and Aberdeen in tow of the drifters Gowan and Daisy. They are away to be engined. Only half a mile separated both the pairs of vessels at sea.

CRAIGNOON KY 279 Official Number 126974, built of Wood 1908 by Wm Geddes Portgordon. 77 GRT 86 Ft x 18.4 Ft x 8.7 Ft. 25 H.P. Engine Manufacturer – Lewis Torry Original name and registration of vessel Craignoon KY 279. Built for A Rodger, T Cunningham, T Davidson Cellardyke, Requisitioned 1915 as a net vessel fitted with a 1.57 mm gun sunk by Austrian Cruisers on 15/5/1917 off Fano Island in the Adriatic

WW1 Skipper James Brunton Wilson

In January 1915, as World War 1 intensified, Cellardyke-born James Brunton Wilson became skipper of the steam drifter Craignoon, KY279, one of the vessels requisitioned for duties.

With his crew, he left Anstruther harbour for Aberdeen.  First they were sent to patrol off Cornwall, and then against the Austro-Hungarian Navy, off Southern Italy. 

Based at Taranto, at the Strait of Otranto, the Craignoon was one of forty steam drifters lined up across the Adriatic Sea, forming a barrage between Brindisi and Corfu, a distance of 45 miles (72 km). James’ brother Andrew said: “Their job was to shoot the mesh wire nets to try and trap Austrian submarines.”  The job of manning the Otranto Barrage was dangerous. For “unknown action” which took place on 23rd July 1916, King Alexander awarded James Brunton Wilson the Serbian Gold Medal, by Grand Order of Peter 1st, for his ‘meritorious conduct’.  Further details are held by the Scottish Fisheries Museum.

THe Craignoon was involved in the Battle of Otranto in May 1917.  Austro-Hungarian destroyers set out, under cover of darkness, to destroy the barrage of drifters. 

When the Craignoon was hit, James ordered his crew into the lifeboat and he was the last to leave and almost lost his life when the wheelhouse blew up. Engineer John M. Smith, in Memories of a First World War Sailor, wrote: “The second shell must have hit the boiler with high steam pressure on for our ship blew up in pieces.” James and seventy other sailors were captured in the battle and spent the rest of the war as prisoners of war in Austria.

James Brunton Wilson continued to skipper many boats after WW1. During WW2 he died of natural causes aboard the William Wilson while serving at Scapa Flow. ( Research BY A E Humphries

GUERDON KY 283 Official Number 126975. Built of Steel 1908 by Alexander Hall, Aberdeen. 89 GRT 86.6 Ft x 18.6 Ft x 9 Ft. 22 H.P. Engine Manufacturer – Alexander Hall, Aberdeen. Original name and registration of vessel Guerdon KY 283. Built for William Bonthron, A Kerr and Adam Reid, Cellardyke sold to Irvin and Johnston South Africa 1920, Requisitioned 1915-1919 as a net vessel with 3 pounder.” Year scrapped, unknown

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is KY-293-William-Wilson.jpg

WILLIAM WILSON KY 293 Official Number 1318834. Built of Steel 1929 by Alexander Hall, Aberdeen. 118 GRT 90.2 Ft x 19.7 Ft x 9.7 Ft 38 H.P. Engine Manufacturer-Alexander Hall, Aberdeen. Original name and registration of vessel William Wilson KY 293 Built for WC Wilson Whitley Bay, sold 1954 to Milford Haven rerg M90 sold 1958 to Scarborough SH 66. sold as salvage vessel in 1960 to Peterhead. Requistitioned WW2 as Hospital Drifter” Year scrapped 1974/5

Sunderland Daily Echo and Shipping Gazette – 2nd August 1929

DISAPPEARED AT SEA. CELLARDYKE FISHER’S FATE. Letter to Wife Found in Bunk. When the Scottish line fishing boat, William Wilson, arrived at North Shields to-day it was reported that one of the deckhands, David Smith (29), of Cellardyke, was missed on Wednesday morning while the boat was 155 miles N.N.E. of the Tyne. The crew were having breakfast when Smith got up and said he was going deck. Later he could not be found. Smith, who had left a letter in his bunk addressed to his wife, had complained recently of pains. 
This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is KY-300-Carmi-III--1024x653.jpg

CARMI 111 KY 300 Official Number 126977. Built of Steel 1908 by Montrose Shipbuilding Co. 88 GRT 86 Ft x 18.6 Ft x 8.6 Ft. 39 H.P. Engine Manufacturer – WVV Ligerwood Coatbridge. Original name and registration of vessel Carmi III KY300. Built for Thomas Anderson, 2 Fowler Street , requisitioned 1915 -1919 as a net vessel with 6 puonder and 1940-44 boom defence, sold 5/4/1929, Renamed JT Hendry BCK 22, later BF 42″ Year scrapped 1951/2

East of Fife Record, 8th May 1908 –

 LAUNCH OF A STEEL DRIFTER, on Wednesday night, there was launched at Montrose a steel drifter, built to the order of Skipper Thomas Anderson, Cellardyke. Mrs Anderson, wife of the owner, performed the christening ceremony, the vessel being named Carmi the Third. The dimensions are of the same extent as the Kilmany, launched a fortnight ago. After the launch, a few friends, including Provost Morris, Anstruther, were entertained to a cake and wine banquet by Mr Fletcher, and several toasts appropriate to the occasion were proposed and responded to
Photo from Peter Bowman
Press and Journal, April 1913,
YARMOUTH COLLISION CASE. Captain A- Wood. J.P., nautical assessor in the Technical College, Dundee, has just issued his decision in a collision case off Yarmouth on 29th October, 1912, between two Cellardyke drifters, Carmi III and Guerdon, which were insured in the same company. Both vessels claimed for loss of fishing, and the company offering £135 lie money, left the two skippers settle who was at fault in the collision. To determine this, the skippers agreed to refer the case to Captain Wood, who after hearing evidence, found that the Guerdon alone was blame for the collision. 

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is KY-304-Kilmany.jpg

KILMANY KY 304 Official Number 126978 . Built of Steel 1908 by Montrose Shipbuilding Co Ltd. 88 GRT 86 Ft x 18.6 Ft x 8.6 Ft. 39 H.P. Engine Manufacturer – WVV Ligerwood Coatbridge. Original name and registration of vessel Kilmany KY304. Built for John Gardner, Martin Gardner, Martin Gardner Jnr, Henry Gardner and Thomas Gardner, sold 1924 rereg Kilmany BF1, requisitioned 1915-1919 net vessel with 6 pounder” Year 1938

On Wednesday afternoon, the Montrose Shipbuilding Company launched a steel drifter, built to the order of Messrs Martin Gardner & Sons, Cellardyke. The christening ceremony was performed by Miss Jeanie Gardner, daughter of one of the owners, and the name given was the Kilmany. The dimensions are—Length of keel 86 feet, breadth of beam 18 1/2 feet, and depth of hold 9 1/2 feet. The engines are to be made by Messrs Ledgerwood & Co., engineers, Coatbridge, and the vessel will be ready for the ensuing herring fishing. The launch was most successful, and the general opinion was that the new boat was a very fine model.

East of Fife Record, 1st May 1908

Painted by William Moncrieff the painting shows the The Kilmany as a hired drifter in WW1 serving on anti submarine patrols. It has a 6 pounder Hotchkiss gun on deck to be used against surfaced submarines and the other detail is that like all patrol vessels it has been fitted with a wireless, as you can see from the cable strung from the masts. (It is the same detail as on the carving of the drifter on the Cellardyke war memorial.) Info from Kevin Dunion Painting owned by Susan Cathcart grandaughter of the artist crew member of the boat.

Recently discovered photos of the Kilmany during her war service 1915-1919

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is KY-322-Wilson-Line-c.jpg
The Wilson Line, last steam drifter built in UK, the largest steam drifter built for the East Neuk,.

WILSON LINE KY 322 Official Number 131884, Steel 1932 by Alexander Hall and Co Aberdeen, 116 GRT 94.2 Ft x 19.6 Ft x 9.7 Ft. 36 H.P. Engine Manufacturer-Alexander Hall, Aberdeen. Original name and registration of vessel Wilson Line KY 322. Built for WC Wilson Whitley Bay. Owners 1940, WC Wilson, D Watson, Norman Wilson, sold 1954 rereg YH 105, converted to diesel 1962 sold to Greece 1975 still operational 1994, requisitioned WW2 as hospital ship, runner up prunier trophy 1948 and 1954″ Year scrapped / wrecked/ decomissioned Unknown

Wilson Line Converted to diesel
Wilson Line in Corfu 1994
This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is KY-347-Twinkling-Star.jpg

TWINKLING STAR KY 347 Official Number 140845. Built of Steel 1920 by Browns Dry Dock & Shipbuilding Co, Hull. 95 GRT 86.2 Ft x 18.5 Ft x 9.2 Ft. 40 H.P. Engine Manufacturer – Politt and Wigzell. Original name and registration of vessel HMD Chimera 1920 first fished as JR Mitchel PD 443, then Twinkling Star 1922. Bought in 1932 by John C Muir( Keay) Bass View West Forth Street, owners John C Muir, George K Muir ( Ritchie) James Muir (Mathers) Norman Wilson sold 1947 renamed Merchant Venturer M49. Requisitioned Boom defence WW2″ Year scrapped 1960

Belfast telegraph 13Dec 1937

DECK HAND’S NECK BROKEN WHEN MOORING ROPE SNAPPED. An unusual death was caused on Saturday when a ship’s mooring rope snapped and broke a deck hand’s neck. The dead man is William M’Bayne, Shore Street, Cellardyke. a deck hand on the Anstruther steam drifter, Twinkling Star. The Twinkling Star was leaving Anstruther Harbour for Methil on Saturday between seven and eight o’clock, when the accident occurred. As the vessel was turning the snap of the mooring rope was heard. Immi:dialefy afterwards M’Bayne was found lying on the deck. On examination by a doctor he was found to be dead, his neck having been broken. His body was removed to his home. He is survived by his wife and two young twins. 

FAITH KY 443 Official Number 97934. Built of Steel 1891 By G Scott, Kinghorn. 135 GRT 100.3 Ft x 20.1 Ft x 10.3 Ft. 50 H.P. Engine Manufacturer – Scott, Tayport and Dundee. Original name and registration of vessel Faith KY 443. Built for J Doig and J Williamson (Stephen?). Was a trawler and liner. In 1898 the owner was J Black, Anstruther, rereg under same owner in 1900 as A 55. 1902-1915 J Black and Williamson Liverpool, 1915 J Black and J Doig , sold 1919 to Whitby kept same Reg, Kept fishing during WW1.” Year scrapped 1927.

East of Fife Record – Friday 17 July 1891

On Saturday evening, Messrs Scott & Co. launched from their slip at Kinghorn, the steam trawler, which has been built to the order of Mr Stephen Williamson MP and which is to be manned by Cellardyke fishermen. The launch took place at six o’clock, previous to which hour a large crowd had collected round the slip. Among those present from the East of Fife were Mr Jamieson, Misses L. and A. Jamieson, Marsfield ; Provost Anderson, Austruther; Mr and Mrs David Murray, St Ayles ; Mr Williams Birrell, Anstruther; Provost Welch, and Councillor Jack, Pittenweem ; Miss Hutchison, Grangemouth ; Mr George Fowler, Cellardyke, &c. Before the launch the visitors had an opportunity of going over the vessel, which is undoubtedly a splendid model of naval architecture. She has been fitted up with all the latest improvements to fit her for the deep sea line and trawI fishing. Her principal dimensions are-100 feet long , 20 feet beam, and 11 feet 2 inches in depth. She has an extra powerful trawl winch and bollards, a patentdavid score aft, a short top-gallant forecastle, forming entrance to extra fine crew berths, also store-rooms and W.C. She has water ballast under the forecastle, and the cabin has been neatly fitted up in polished pitchpine, and seats upholstered in railway carriage cloth. She is fitted with triple expansive engines to drive her at the high speed of 11 knots per hour. She is built of steel to scantlings considerably in excess of Lloyd’s rules, and has beens made exceptionally strong throughout her whole construction. Altogether she is one of the finest and best equipped trawlers owned in Scotland. Mr D Murray, is to be the manager, and the crew of Cellardyke men are as follows Michael Doig (Pratt). captain ; Alexander Thomson, James Doig. William Watson, Alexander Wood, cook, and Robert Montadore, engineer These were all present on Saturday. Punctually at six o’clock she left the ways, and smoothy glided into the water, Miss L. Jamieson gracefully performing the christening ceremony by breaking the usual bottle of wine over her bow and naming her the Faith. Her Number is KY 443, and on her stern is the words” Faith, Anstruther.” As soon as she reached the water, and was clear of the launching slip, she curved to the east, the intention being to get her bow to sea in order to steam to BurntIsland at once. Unfortunately she backed to the shore too far, and before her engine, could be got to work properly, the stern post had struck one of the submerged rocks. Every effort was made to get her off, the anchor being thrown out and the steam winch being set agoing, with the propellor working at full speed. All was of no avail, and after work. ind nearly two hours in this way, she canted over. A tug arrived from Leith shortly after eight o’clock, but it was useless to attempt anything then, the tide being so far out When the tide came in next morning she was easily got off, and taken to Burntisland, when it was found that she had sustained very little damage. The trawler is likely to arrive at Anstruther some time in the beginning of next week, in order to take her gear, which has been made at Cellardyke on board. She is now entirely ready for sea, and will make her trial trip on Monday.

1899

We understand that Mr Stephen Williamson has just purchased the Grimsby trawler Monarch; and that Mr Michael Doig, late of Cellardyke is to be Skipper. He is to be succeeded in the office of skipper of the Faith by his brother James who has been along with him in the Faith for some time.

MAGGIE LAUDER KY 449 Official Number 97935 Built of Wood 1891 by Wm Jarvis, Anstruther. 86 GRT 83.5 Ft x 18.6 Ft x 9.5 Ft. 30 H.P. Engine Manufacturer Hawthorn Leith. Original name and registration of vessel Maggie Lauder KY 449. Built for Anstruther Steam Fishing Company Ltd, Crewed by Cellardyke Crew. Sold to Saltcoats as a herring Carrier approx 1900 sunk 1903 in Collission with another Herring carrier Isle of May KY 569. vessel raised and repaired for £869 re reg BF 745 Maggie Lauder burned out East Anglia 1903.

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is KY-458-Rob-The-Ranter-1024x586.jpg

ROB THE RANTER KY 458 Official Number 97937. Built of Wood 1892 by Wm Jarvis, Anstruther. 90 GRT 89 Ft x 18.9 Ft x 9 Ft. 34 H.P. Engine Manufacturer – Hawthorn Leith. Original name and registration of vessel Rob the Ranter KY 458. Built for Anstruther Steam Fishing Co Ltd. Sold 1901 to John Smith Morris 4 Rustic Place and T A Murray. 1900-1914 owner J Smith Morris James Brunton (Barclay) George Barclay (Bridges). Sold 1917 to Peterhead, PD 329, sold 1919 for scrapping.

St Andrrws Citizen 30th April 1892

 Launch. —On Tuesday the second vessel the order the Anstruther Steam Line Fishing Co. was launched from the yard Mr Jarvis, Anstruther. There was good display of flags, and large crowds gathered the quay. The vessel was named the “Rob the Ranter” by Miss Cook as she left the stays. The ceremony was performed in a very short space of time, so precise were the arrangements. Her dimensions are feet keel, 94 feet over all, 18 feet broad, and 9 1/2 feet deep. She fitted with a cabin amidships capable of accommodating nine men, and fish and ice room forward, together with best and latest improvements. She will cross Leith in a few days have her engines put in. 

St Andrews Citizen, 17 Dec 1895

ANSTRUTHER. Trawler’s Engineer Drowned. —On Sunday morning, about half-past ten, the body of a man was observed lying beside the drainage pipe to the west the harbour. Several men immediately got a stretcher, and had him hoisted up the wall and carried him to the old steamboat shed. Several fishermen who had come up identified him as John Walton, engineer of the steam liner Rob the Ranter. He was last seen at the Post Office, where he sent off some money to his friends. On being searched he was found to have 1s 0 1/2d, a knife, and a paper bearing a foreign post mark on him. He is native of Newcastle, and leaves a wife and large family, who reside at Shields. 

Aberdeen Press and Journal April 1917

Vessels for sale – Steam Drifter for Sale. There will be sold by public auction on Saturday 14th Aprils 1917 at 2 o clock pm within the Fife Arms hotel at Macduff, the steam drifter Rob the Ranter KY 456, which vessel was built under lloyds special survey by William Jarvis, A struther, and which has all along been maintained in good order. She is at present ready to prosecute net or line fishing, and is provided with steam capstan and steam line hauler. A new tail shaft fitted 1914.    her dimensions are . Length 89 feet, Beam 18feet 9 inches, depth 9ft 5 inches. Gross Tonnage 90 tons. Registered Tonnage 33 tons, Engines by Cran and cO leith, Cylinders 14″ and 23″ stroke 20″ HP 34. The vessel can be surveyed on the slip at Macduff from 6th April til day of sale. For Particulars apply to W S Bonthron, Auctioneer, Anstruther
This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is Ky-460-Edith-1-1024x477.jpg

EDITH KY 460 Official Number 91091. Built of Wood 1886 by Marr Bros, or Mackenzie Leith. 49 GRT 69 Ft x 17 Ft x 7.6 Ft. 17 H.P. Engine Manufacturer “John Cran, Leith” Vessel Built ” Original name and registration of vessel Edith LH 18. This was one of the East Neuk’s smallest steam drifter, possibly originally built with only a steering platform or no top to the wheelhouse as a photoin Anstruther harbour shows this, alternatively she could be in the process of getting a new wheelhouse fitted. Bought 1892 by Thomas Cunningham Anstruther, then 1909 Andrew Watson , Cellardyke, J Dick (Smith), T Cunningham, T Davidson, Cellardyke, P Brown and others. sold 1917 to Aberdeen A780 lost of May Island 1924

ANSTER FAIR KY 461 Official Number 97939. Built of Wood 1892 by Wm Jarvis, Anstruther. 88 GRT 89 Ft x 18.6 Ft x 8.9 Ft. 33 H.P. Engine Manufacturer – Hawthorn Leith Original name and registration of vessel Anster Fair KY 461 Anstruther “Built for Anstruther Steam Fishing Co Ltd and worked with Cellardyke Crew. Sold 1902 to Thomas Anderson and W Anderson Pittenweem, sold 1915 after stranding at Macduff to Aberdeen but kept KY registry” Year scrapped 1922

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is KY-472-William-Tennant-2-1008x1024.jpg
William Tennant with original wooden wheelhouse and no galley on deck casing. this was repaced by a steel one prior to 1914

WILLIAM TENNANT KY 472 Official Number 102201, Built of Wood 1893 by Wm Jarvis, Anstruther. 93 GRT 89.1.ft Ft x 18.7 ft x 9.2 ft. 34 H.P. Engine Manufacturer – Hawthorn Leith. Original name and registration of vessel William Tennant KY 472. Built for Anstruther Steam Fishing Co sold 1902 to David Wood ( Birrell) 21 Rodger Street, 1917 managing owner David Wood (Wallace) West Forth Street. Requisitioned 1915 for use as net vessel with 6 pounder, sunk 5/3/1918 following a collision off the Humber

20th January 1892

Launch of the liner William Tennant

Yesterday afternoon the fourth liner built to the order of the Anstruther steam Fishing Coy, was launched from Mr Jarvis’ yard at the new harbour. The dimensions of the vessel are similar to those of the previous two and are. Length of Keel 88 feet, lengthy over all 96 feet, Breadth 18 feet, and depth 10 feet. Several improvements have been effected in the internal fittings. The fish room is in the fore part of the liner, and the shelf accommodation is very large. Plenty of space is left to make and ice room if required at any time. The engines are in the centre of the vessel and the cabin with berths for all the crew is at the stern. It is a large and comfortable room, and replete with every convenience for the men. The ship has been built in the same substantial manner as the other vessels. Yesterday there was a good turnout for the launch. A stream of flags were suspended from the masts which were fitted in last week. People from all parts of the district began to congregate on the middle pier shortly before three o clock. At a quarter past the hour the workmen began to wedge the liner up at the stern, and in another five minutes all was in readiness for the launch. The order was given and the William Tennant glided smoothly into the water, Miss Lumsden, Pittenweem gracefully and successfully performing the christening ceremony. Rockets were sent up and loud cheers were raised as she left the ways. The launch thus passed off without a hitch, and the liner was afterwards brought round to the middle pier. She will be taken to Leith on Monday to have her engines placed.

GLENOGIL KY 493 Official Number 102020. Built of Wood 1893 by Wm Jarvis, Anstruther 95 GRT 89.7 Ft x 18.7 Ft x 9.4 Ft. 34 H.P. Engine Manufacturer – Hawthorn Leith. Original name and registration of vessel Glenogil KY 493. Built for East of Fife Steam Fishing Co, sold Feb 1899 to Tay steam Fishing co, for £1900 retained KY reg. Sold 1902 to Robert Stewart (Watson) Cellardyke, George Doig (Smith) James Martin(Gardner) James Smith Carstairs) sold 1925 to Cockenzie retained KY reg requisitioned 1914-1919 as patrol boat and Hydro Tender” Year scrapped 1938

FORWARD KY 505 Official Number not known. Built of Wood 1877 By D Allan, Granton. 50 GRT 66 Ft x 17.3 Ft x 7.5 Ft. 15 H.P. Engine Manufacturer – J.O Spence, North Shields. Original name and registration of vessel Forward KY 505 Cellardyke Built for Sharp and Murray, traditional Fifie Hull with Steam winch and propulsion. sold to France 1897, sister ship Onward LH880 built for Forth Steam Fishing Co Newhaven.” Year scrapped Unknown

These two vessels were significant step forwards in using steam power for drifters , Sharp and Murray were curers, oilskin manufacturers, net manufacturers and general fishing gear suuppliers.

Copely KY 536 entering Anstruther Harbour

EMERALD KY 522 Official Number 96492. Built of Wood 1889 by Marr, Leith. 47.43 GRT 71.6 Ft x 17.6 Ft x 7.1 Ft. 18 H.P. Engine Manufacturer – J.O Spence North Shields Original name and registration of vessel Emerald SN 61 . Bought 1894 by Cellardyke and Pittenweem Steam Fishing Co Ltd, sold 1896 to Ireland rereg T 861, 1902 sold to Lowestoft LT437, 1906 YH 162 sold 1911 Lowestoft LT 1133 foundered 1913.

COPLEY KY 536 Official Number 102203, Built of Wood 1895 by Wm Jarvis, Anstruther. 96 GRT 90 Ft x 18.7 Ft x 9.5 Ft. 34 H.P. Engine Manufacturer – Hawthorn Leith Original name and registration of vessel Copley KY 536 Anstruther “Built for Forth Steam Fishing co Ltd, Crewed by Cellardyke Fishermen. sold 1899 to Shields renamed Alnwick Castle SN 24 bought back, 1911 by T Cunningham Anstruther re reg KY120 Alnwick Castle sold 1919 to Aberdeen as Trading vessel Year scrapped 1922

ST ADRIAN KY 544/ ST ADRIAN KY 103Official Number 102205, Built of Wood 1895 By Wm Jarvis, Anstruther. 89 GRT 86.5 Ft x 19.1 Ft x 9 Ft. 33 H.P. Engine Manufacturer – Hawthorn Leith Original name and registration of vessel St Adrian KY 544. Built For St Adrian Steam line Fishing Co, Pitteweem, sold 1900 reg A 253. Bought back post 1910 By T Cunningham Anstruther Francis Richardson T Davidson, J Hodge Cellardyke rereg KY 103. 1920 vessel sold as salvage vessel Sunderland however continued to fish until 1924 when scrapped.

Thought to be East Neuk KY 546

EAST NEUK KY 546 / EAST NEUK KY 176 Official Number 102026, Built of Wood 1895 by Wm Jarvis, Anstruther. 116 GRT 91 Ft x 19.9 Ft x 10.8 Ft. 50 H.P. Engine Manufacturer – N.E.M Co Sunderland. Original name and registration of vessel East Neuk KY 546 built for Crail Steam Fishing Co. Sold Feb 1899 to Aberdeen, rereg A 37, sold 1912 To James Smith, Andrew Cunningham, G M Cunningham rereg KY176, 1917 vessel owned in Aberdeen wrecked 30/8/1923 working as a coastal trading vessel with a cargo of timber.

KELLIE CASTLE KY 567 Official Number 102027 built of Steel 1896 by Hawthorn Leith. 114 GRT 90.2 Ft x 19.1 Ft x 9.6 Ft. 34 H.P. Engine Manufacturer- Hawthorn Leith. Original name and registration of vessel Kellie Castle KY 567. Built for Castle Steam Fishing Co ltd, Anstruther, with Cellardyke crew, sold 1901 for rumoured £1950 to London owners as a fish carrier, missing in North Sea 1902/3

ISLE OF MAY KY 569 Official Number 102208. Built of Steel 1896 by Hawthorn Leith. 114 GRT 90.2 Ft x 19.1 Ft x 9.6 Ft. 34 H.P. Engine Manufacturer Hawthorn Leith. Original name and registration of vessel Isle of May KY 569. Built for? Cellardyke Crewed. Sold in 1902 for rumoured £1650 as a herring Carrier and rereg in Ardrossan sank in 1904 in Loch Fyne, refloated. 1917 owned Yarmouth, 1920-1926 owner Glasgow” Year scrapped unknown

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is KY-571-White-Cross--1024x652.jpg

WHITE CROSS KY 571 Official Number 102210, Built of Wood 1896 Built By Wm Jarvis, Anstruther. 101 GRT 90.3 Ft x 19.2 Ft x 9.7 Ft. 38 H.P. Engine Manufacturer – John Cran, Leith. Original name and registration of vessel White Cross KY 571. Built for White Cross Steam Fishing Co,Ltd. Fitted with a thwartship bunker to carry more coal. Sold 1909 to Alexander Gourlay, Dove Street Cellardyke, 1923-24 Owners G Gourlay (Watson) D Gourlay, J Gourlay (Dick). 1925 sold to John Graham, Thordisa Anstruther and D Smith, J T Graham, J B Graham , St Monance Vessel was requisitioned 1915-1919 as a net vessel.” Year scrapped 1936

Dundee Courier 4th Oct 1902

NEW JOINT-STOCK COMPANIES. The following new joint-stock companies have been registered in Scotland: The White Cross Steam Fishing Company, Limited, 1 Union Place, Anstruther; capital, £1750, in shares each, which are not offered to the public. To catch, procure, or buy fish, and to sell the same. Signatories: –W. Oliphant, bank agent, 26 Rodger Street; R. Boyter, cabinetmaker, 1 Melville Terrace; A. Parker, merchant, 38 Street; R. Reekie, grocer, 18 Cunzie Street all of Anstruther; W. P. Wilson, teacher, Shore Road, Anstruther Wester; P. Grubb, clothier, 4 John Street, Cellardyke; and Jas. Lawrie, builder, 10 Rustic Place, Anstruther. 


1st May 1896
Considerable progress has been made with the erection of the new liner at the Middle Pier, Anstruther, by Mr Jarvis and his workmen, and the launch of the vessel has been fixed to take place on Wednesday week, the 13th instant, at half-past two o’clock in the afternoon. It may be remembered that some weeks ago it was decided to name the Company the White Star Company, with the name of the White Star to the vessel. On application being made for the registration of the Company it was found that there was a Shipping Company of that name already in existence. The directors thereupon selected the name of the White Cross Company, and the vessel to be launched on the 13th will be christened the White Cross. The liner is similar in model and size to the others built by Mr Jarvis. The length of keel is 88 feet 8 inches; the extreme length 97 feet; the breadth moulded, 18 feet 6 inches; and the depth 9 feet 3 inches. The White Cross is being fitted up with all the latest improvements. At the stem is a roomy forecastle, with an ice room adjoining. The fish room comes next, and every advantage has been taken of the room to give as much accommodation as possible for the stowing away of the fish. All the divisions have been fitted with grooves for the taking in and out of the shelves, on which can be laid out 150 score of fish. The flooring of the fish room has a slope to the centre in order to allow the water to run off, and it passes into a tank, which is emptied by au injector connected with the engine. In addition to the side coal bunkers, a cross bunker the breadth of the vessel has been put in while from the fore end of the boiler to the end of the engine, iron beams have been placed to strengthen the vessel to bear the heavy weight at this particular part. In the cabin at the stern accommodation has been made for nine men, while every attention has been paid to the provisions of ensuring their comfort. The liner is expected to be ready for the fishing towards the middle of June.

12th June
ARRIVAL OF THE WHITE CROSS LINER.—The liner White Cross recently launched by Mr Jarvis, returned from Leith on Wednesday afternoon. Skipper Parker was in charge, and the liner arrived about three o’clock. A good number of people were on the piers, and after she had been moored at the middle pier made an inspection. The skipper was highly pleased with the way in which the vessel made the voyage from Leith. The White Cross is expected to begin the fishing on Monday week. She is at present being rigged out.

East of Fife Record 23rd Feb 1900
A fire occurred on board the liner White Cross yesterday morning off Anstruther Harbour, and two of the crew were severely burnt on the arms and face. Fortunately the fire was soon subdued, and the damage does not amount to very much.

East of Fife Record 31st August 1900
THE RECENT DROWING CASE OFF ANSTRUTHER HARBOUR. FATAL ACCIDENTS INQUIRY AT CUPAR. Before Sheriff Armour and a jury at Cupar on Tuesday forenoon, an inquiry was held into the death of James Smith, fisherman, Cellardyke, who was drowned oft Anstruther harbour on the 4th instant. The jury was composed of seven men. Skipper David Parker was the first witness. He said—l am a fisherman, and reside in West Forth Street, Cellardyke. No one so far as I know represents the relatives here to-day. l am Skipper of the steam liner White Cross, K.Y., 571. She carries a crew of 10 all told. The late James Smith was one of the crew. About 2 o’clock on the afternoon of Saturday, the 4th instant, we arrived off Anstruther harbour. The liner Isle of May was lying outside of us. My son Alexander who is one of my crew went ashore in a small boat belonging to the Isle of May. I got the loan of that boat to save me launching my own. My son returned from the harbour with a box of cutch. He had in the boat with him four small boys. As soon as the little boat came alongside the liner, James Smith went on board and assisted in bringing on board the liner the box of cutch. After this, I asked Smith to go and get two baskets belonging to me from the Isle of May, which was lying about 200 yards from us. When I gave the order, Smith said ” just give me a plug out,” he meant to give a tow. We took him in tow, I giving orders to the engineer to go east ahead. After we had started a minute or two the accident happened. The small boat was just alongside, and she struck the liner, and filled with water. The boys went to the other side, and giving a lurch she capsized and all the occupants were pitched into the water. I never saw Smith after that. The small boat did not sink, but capsized and came up again. My son and others two clung to the boat, but the other three were cast adrift. I did not see Smith rise to the surface again. He had on heavy sea boats and all his oilskins. We suppose he must have gone down. His body has never been found. Q.—What do you think was the cause of the capsizing of the boat. A.—l could not suggest any reason. the Sheriff—Was the boat being pulled alongside the liner. Witness—lt was towing alongside by the quarter. She sheared against the liner, and then filled with water. The occupants ran to the other side, and the boat toppled over, and all were cast adrift. The small boat was 14 or 15 feet in Length. There were 2 men and 4 boys on board. The boys came in the boat from the shore. They had nothing to do on board the liner, but just came out for a sail. The boys were from 10 to 12 years old. All the boys were saved. A Juryman—ls it a wise thing to send a fisherman clothed in oil-skins and wearing heavy sea boots a message in a small boat. The witness—He was not in the boat to the harbour, he just jamp aboard the small boat to assist in getting the box of cutch on board I then asked him to row out to the Isle of May and get two baskets as i had several baskets of herrings to put ashore. He said all right, give us a plug out, and I just sent the liner ahead a little bit when the accident happened. The weather was quite fine. There was no ruffle whatever, or else we could not have done what we did. The Sheriff—l suppose it is a good deal in the option of the crew whether they wear sea boots and put on oilskins. The Witness—lt is for their own protection that they put on oilskins to keep them dry. The Sheriff—But you don’t order to put them off and on when you like. Witness—No, they do it to please themselves and for their own protection. John Anderson, fisherman, Cellardyke, said —I was one of the crew of the liner White Cross. On the 4th of August I assited to got a box of cutch on board the liner. I was siting outside the rail looking at the boat when the accident happened. James Smith, the skipper’s son, and four boys were in the beat. They were to get a pull alongside the liner. They slung out the small rope from the boat, and the liner wad steamed easy ahead. Smith was steering with an oar. The oar broke when the boat struck the liner, and I shouted to stop the engines which was done. When the boat struck the liner she gave a lurch and filled with water, all the boys ran to the other side and held on, it was then that the tow rope broke, and the boat capsized. All were thrown into the water. We saved them all except Smith. I never saw Smith rise when the boat was capsized. Smith threw away the broken oar from him when the boat was going over, and clutched the stern of the boat. I never saw him after that. He must have sunk . The Sherriff—What do you think was the cause of the accident,  Witness – Smith , allowing the small boat to come too near the liner. I cried out to him to give a longer line. It was tied to the quarter of the boat and it either came off there or broke when the accident happened. The liner had just started easy ahead when the accident happened. The Sheriff—ls it not a very unusual accident to happen. Witness—Yes. and it is not often we use the small boats  either. The Sherriff —What length was the small boat was lost—About 16 or 18 feet of keel. This Closed the evidence. The Sheriff did you think the jury would have any difficulty in this case. He suggested that they should bring in the following verdict :—That James Smith, fisherman, abut 3 o,olock on the afternoon of Saturday, 4th August, the course of his industrial-employment as a fisherman on board the steam liner. White Cross, in the service of Skipper David Parker, while in the act of steering a small boat in the Firth of Forth a mile off Anstruther harbour, was thrown into the water in consequence of the small boat capsizing, and was drowned. This verdict unanimously agreed to, and the equiry teminated
This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is KY-572-County-Of-Fife-1024x499.jpg

COUNTY OF FIFE KY 572 Official Number 102209, Built of Steel 1896 by Hawthorn Leith 114.4 GRT 90.2 Ft x 19.1 Ft x 9.6 Ft. 34 H.P. Engine Manufacturer Hawthorn Leith. Original name and registration of vessel County of Fife KY572. Built for County Steam Fishing Co, sold 1902 for rumoured £1850 to Saxon Steam fishing Co North Shields, sold 1918 rereg YH 514″ Year scrapped 1927

Andrew Henderson Skippered her with record breaking catches and grossings.

East of Fife Record June 1896

 LAUNCH OF ANOTHER STEAM LINER AT LEITH. There was launched yesterday at Messrs Hawthorn & Co’s yard, Leith, another of the new Steam liners for one of the local Companies. The boat was built to the order of the County Steam Fishing Company Limited. and is the same dimensions as the Kellie Castle and the ‘lsle of May,’ recently built by the same firm. She was named The County of Fife’ by Miss Sprot of Stravithie. The dimensions are :-90 feet long by 19 feet by 10 feet 6 inches moulded. She will be propelled by O.S.C. engines supplied with steam by a boiler working at 120 lbs. pressure per square inch, also constructed by the builders. She is fitted with all the latest and most approved appliances. Messrs Hawthorn entertained a number of friends to a cake and wine banquet after the launch, and among those present from the East of Fife district were Bailie George Darsie, Chairman of, the Company. Mr Purvis of Kinaldy, Miss Sprot of Stravithie, Mr H. Watson, National Bank, Mr T. Cunningham, manager, &c., &c. Inglis. of Messrs Hawthorn in proposing success to the County of Fife, said that this was the third steam liner for Anstruther which had been launched from their yard within the last few months, and he had learned that they were giving every satisfaction. He had no doubt the boat just launched would prove equally satisfactory. He coupled the name of the toast with Bailie Darsie, who, in thanking Mr Inglis for his good wishes for the success of the County of Fife, said that there was no doubt that steam was the motive power of the future for fishing crafts, and that some of the local steam liners had done exceedingly well. He trusted the County of Fife would earn large dividends and prove a profitable investment both for shareholders and fishermen. He said the firm of Hawthorn were becoming well-known in our district, and the work which they put out was of first-class order. He asked them to drink to the health of the firm, and coupled the toast with the name of Mr Herdman. Mr Herdman replied, and said they were quite prepared to accept orders for other three fishing boats as soon as they liked. A good deal depended on the building no doubt, but a very important piece of business had just been concluded, viz., the successful launching of the vessel, and not the least important part of the launch was the christening ceremony which had been so gracefully performed that day by Miss Sprot, of, Stravithie. He in a neat speech asked the company to drink to Miss Sprot’s health. Miss Sprot in a word thanked the Company, and Mr Purvis in supplementing, said that he had very willingly accomparied Miss Sprot in the unavoidable absence of Major and Mrs Sprot. As the Chairman of the Company had remarked, steam was the power of the future. One at first sight was inclined to feel grieved to think that the days of the old fishing crafts were numbered, but the fishers like others must march with the times. The flail had given place to the steam threshing mill, the handloom had to give way to that driven by steam, the needle to that of the sewing machine, and the pen to the typewriter, and so on in all branches of industry. The fishing was no exception, and he hoped the fishermen in the meantime would not suffer from the transition. He thanked the company for the kind way they had received the toast of Miss Sprot’s health. Mr Watson proposed the health of Mr Cunningham, the manager, and Mr A. Henderson, the skipper, and Mr Cunningham suitably replied.

FIFENESS KY 589 Official Number 107031, Built of Steel 1897 By Hall Russell Aberdeen 130 GRT 95.7 Ft x 19.6 Ft x 10.5 Ft. 45 H.P. Engine Manufacturer-Hall Russel, Aberdeen. Original name and registration of vessel Fife Ness KY 589. Built for Ness Steam Fishing Co, Ltd. Anstruther Sold in 1901 for rumoured £3200 to Thomas Davidson Aberdeen rereg A377, sunk by gunfire from submarine 12/4/1917 23 miles off Aberdeen

KILRENNY KY 594 Official Number 107034 Built of Wood 1897 Built By Wm Jarvis, Anstruther, 97 GRT 90.3 Ft x 19.1 Ft x 9.8 Ft 38 H.P. Engine Manufacturer – John Cran, Leith” Vessel ” Original name and registration of vessel Kilrenny KY 594, Built for Kilrenny Steam Fishing Co, Ltd Anstruther. Sold 1901 for rumoured £2500 to Inver Steam fishing co Rereg A388 lost 13/10/1911 in colission with Pegasus GY 445

LARGO BAY KY 595 Official Number 107033 Built of Steel 1897 By Dundee Shipbuilding Co. 125 GRT 95 Ft x 19.3 Ft x 10 Ft. 45 H.P. Engine Manufacturer – Cooper and Greig Dundee Original name and registration of vessel Largo Bay KY595 Built for Bay Fishing Co Anstruther. Sold 1901 to Aberdeen re reg A 372 sunk by gunfire 12/4/1917 while fishing 30 miles off Buchan Ness, this vessel tried trawling out of Dundee for a while.

INNERGELLIE KY 604 Official Number 107036 Built of Wood 1897 by Wm Jarvis, Anstruther. 100 GRT 91.4 Ft x 19.1 Ft x 10 Ft. 38 H.P. Engine Manufacturer – John Cran, Leith. Original name and registration of vessel Innergellie KY 604 Built for Kilrenny Steam Fishing Co, sold 1900 for rumoured £2500,to T Davidson Aberdeen, sold back to Cellardyke, J Muir (Keay) and Bonthron in 1902, sold 1905 to J Muir (Keay) Fowler Street. Sold to Buckie 1915 rereg BCK 232, sold 1918 to Yarmouth YH 715, 1920 LT1091 scrapped 1925

ROTHESAY BAY KY 611 Official Number 107038 Built of Wood 1897 by Wm Jarvis, Anstruther. 101 GRT 91.8 Ft x 19.1 Ft x 10 Ft. 38 H.P. Engine Manufacturer – John Cran, Leith. Original name and registration of vessel Rothesay Bay KY 611 “Built for Bay Fishing co, sold 1902 to Thomas Davidson Aberdeen for £2300 rereg A885, bought 1911 by John Stewart,31 Rodger Street, Robert Murray 22 George St, William Murray, 31 Roger St, and T Davidson, rereg KY97 requistioned 1915-1919 as boom defence” Year scrapped 1927 Painting owned by David Barnett Cellardyke

1897 Skippers registered as Thomas and Henry Bett,

28th September 1897

On Monday afternoon Mr Jarvis launched a steam liner to the order of the Bay Fishing Company. The middle pier was lined by a large crowd of spectators, who cheered lustily as the vessel glided very smoothly into the water. Miss Young, Rodger Street, gracefully performed the christening ceremony, the name of the liner being the Rothesay Bay. The boat was brought into the inner harbour and moored at the middle pier, where she will be made ready to be taken to Leith to have the engines fitted on board ( By Cran of Leith). The dimensions are exactly similar to the other vessels recently launched by Mr Jarvis, the extreme length being 96 feet, the breadth 19 feet, and the depth 10 ½  feet. The ice and fish rooms are of the ordinary size the latter having the usual moveable shelves, and a drain for carrying away the water. The latest improvements have been effected also in the accommodation for the crew.

27 Feb 1907

WRECK AT DEERNESS. The steam liner Kilrenny, of Aberdeen, (A 338, Wm. Summers, master), was wrecked on Skaill Skerry, on the east coast of Deerness, last Tuesday evening, 19th inst. The Kilrenny left Wick about ten o’clock that afternoon for the fishing ground off Stronsay. At that time the weather was clear and there was a light breeze from the west, but as as the Kilrenny proceeded the wind went round to the south-east, the weather became thick, and snow began to fall. The skipper then decided to run to Deersound for shelter, the wind continued to increase and then veered to east and then to north-east. The skipper says that he could not see Auskerry, but he got a glimpse of Copinshay about the time he bore up, and he steered N. by W. till he thought he would be almost abreast of Copinshay and then N.W. Snow was now falling more heavily. Between five and six o’clock he went below to consult the chart, and on coming on deck dimly got a glimpse of land. He at once ordered the engineer to go full speed astern, but before sternway was got on the vessel, she struck the rocks and remained fast. The whistle was blown and flares shown. Owing to the heavy sea it was some time before any attempt could be made from the shore to rescue the crew, and word was sent to the Receiver of Wreck at asking that the Stromness lifeboat be sent. A telegram was despatched to Stromness, and the lifeboat started about 10 p.m. in tow of the liner Rothesay Bay, of Aberdeen. In the meantime, however, two attempts had been made by Deerness fishermen to reach the vessel. The first attempt. made by seven men, Wm. Foubister, merchant ; J. Cumming, Lighthouse, R. Foubister, New Grindigar ; A. Foubister, New banks;  W. Kirkness, Grindigar ; Wm. Kirkness, Grindigar ; T. Kirknees, Grindigar, was unsuccessful, as, owing to the blinding snowstorm, the boatmen lost eight of the vessel’s lights, and were unable to locate her. The second attempt, which was made between eight and nine o’clock was successful. A boat from Sandside, manned by four men—D. C. Matches, Breekan ; Wm. Firth, Crya ; John Taylor, Stove ; and J. Irvine, Sandside, approached the Kilrenny as closely as possible owing to shallow water, and the master then decided to abandon the vessel, over which the seas were breaking and knocking her so heavily on the rocks that there was danger of her breaking up. The Kilrenny’s boat was launched with great difficulty, and by it part of the crew were transferred to the shore boat. The vessel’s boat then returned, took off the rest of the crew, and followed the shore boat to land at Sandside. The crew lost most of their effects. The Kilrenny, which is a vessel of 12 tons register, 38 horse power, was built of wood at Anstruther in 1897. She belongs to the Inver Steam Line Fishing Co., Ld., of Aberdeen, and is partly owned by the master., She is, we understand, insured. Another account says : On Tuesday night, about 6 o’clock, a vessel was thought to be ashore on Skaill Skerry, as she was blowing her steam whistle and using flare-up lights. But it was incessant snow, and at times nothing could be seen. The skerry lies on the east side of Deerness, right off Skaill. It is about half a mile from the shore, and there is deep water between the skerry and shore in which there is a good tide. One boat attempted to make the vessel from Skaill side, but missed their way, as they could not see lights and the vessel stopped her whistle. Another boat went from Sandside. They could at times discern the masthead light, but not knowing exactly where the vessel was ashore on the skerry, and being in such a dangerous place and the sea choppy, they could not go too near the vessel. Wind was at the time from N.E. On coming up to the vessel they saw they could not venture to go too near, but cried, to the crew to launch their own boat, which they did, but the moment it touched the water it capsized. One of the crew bailed her out. After taking some of the crew aboard, they were pulled to the shore boat, when some of them went aboard her. They now went back for the remainder, when they were pulled by the shore boat to the land. By the time they were ready to come they were guided be lights front the shore, otherwise they would not have found their way back. The liner is the Kilrenny. of Aberdeen, A. 388, William Summers, master and part owner, resisting in Torry, Aberdeenshire ; Morrison, John Buthaly, John Hay, John Stuart, James Robertson, John Cromby. engineer ; Chas. Frazer, fireman ; and Andrew Hay, cook. They were taken and looked after by the Deerness people. The men who were in the shore boat were John Firth, Creya ; David Matches. jr., Brecken ; John Tailor, Stove; and Wm. Irvine, Sandside, who are worthy of further recognition for their most willing and meritorious services in rescuing those fishermen in such a night and at such a dangerous place ; and we hope public recognition will be made of this noble act, as this is the second time these first two men, Wm. Firth and D. Matches, have been the means of saving life. The crew of the liner left Deerness next day. The master remained till Friday in the hope of salving some of the material. A few lines and some of the crew’s effects have since been salved. The Kilrenny still remains where she struck. Our Stromness correspondent writes :—Since Tuesday of last week we have experienced very stormy weather, and in consequence the harbour has been almost full of steam vessels all the week. On Friday last upwards of fifty of these vessels were in the harbour. Several of them were caught in the gale and received more or less damage, but happily no loss of life was reported here. The greatest damage seems to have been sustained by the boats carried on these craft, as six at least were holed and rendered useless, and before proceeding to sea other boats had to be bought and put on board. On Saturday evening the weather moderated, and a number of the larger trawlers put to sea, while the smaller craft. remained until Monday, when they sailed for the fishing grounds. On Tuesday evening, the 19th inst., Mr G. L. Thomson, hon. secretary to the Lifeboat Committee, received a telegram asking the services of the lifeboat for a steamer which had gone ashore on Skaill Skerry, Deerness. Mr Thomson immediately summoned the lifeboat crew, who were speedily in their places, ready for any service they might be called on to perform. Meanwhile Mr Thomson was busy making arrangements for a steamer to tow the boat to the scene of the wreck, and Capt. Walker, of the liner Rothesay Bay, readily agreed to take the boat in tow, provided a qualified pilot could be got. That Mr Thomson soon found in one of his lifeboat crew, viz , Mr Alex. Smith. The boat was then launched fully manned, arid shortly thereafter the liner had her in tow and left the harbour. The passage to the wreck was made under favourable circumstances, but almost immediately thereafter a blinding storm of wind and snow came on, and it was found impossible to approach the wreck, though flare-up lights and other signals were used, but to these they got no response, and therefore they resolved to stand by until daylight. The liner then proceeded to Deersound, where the lifeboat crew were taken on board and supplied with much-needed refreshments. As soon as daylight came they again proceeded to the wreck, it had proved to be the steam liner Kilrenny, of Aberdeen. When within a short distance of the wreck it was seen that the crew had been taken off, and the steamer’s small boat was also away. Thereon they decided to return at once to Stromness The Rothesay Bay again taking them in tow, Copinsay was passed about 8 o’clock and Stromness reached about 11 o’clock. Such is in brief the story of the lifeboat, but too much praise cannot be given the lifeboat crew for the very efficient. and expeditious manner in which the boat was got ready for a long night’s trying experience and we cannot but feel sorry that they did not have the honour they so richly deserved of rescuing the crew of the stranded steamer, the long distance from Stromness to Deerness being the principal cause. Capt. Walker and crew of the Rothesay Bay are equally deserving of the highest commendation for their willingness to assist the lifeboat on her mission of mercy, to save the lives on board a vessel in distress. Capt. Walker made no excuses, either for want of steam or anything else, and his crew seemed greatly pleased to face the storm and do a night’s duty, if thereby they could assist in saving life.

Crew of the Rothesay Bay as KY 97 – Photo David Barnett. Peter Murray front row second from right, William Murray his brother to his left

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is KY-693-Vanguard-new-.jpg

VANGUARD III KY 693 Official Number 117 573 Built of Steel 1904 Smith’s Dock, North Sheild. s 83 GRT 82.1 Ft x 18.5 Ft x 8.3 Ft x 28 H.P. Engine Manufacturer WVV Ligerwood Coatbridge. Original name and registration of vessel Vanguard III KY 693 Cellardyke “Built for Martin Gardner and Sons, Cellardyke,, 1907 Owners Martin Gardner, Martin Gardner Jnr, H Gardner, J Gardner, T Gardner. 1913 Martin Gaerdner Jnr 18 Fowler Street sold 1922 to Buckie BCK 419, sold 1936 to herring industry board for scrapping for £150. Requisitioned 1915-1919 as patrol vessel and Hyrographic tender with 3 pounder gun

East of Fife Record 11 Dec 1903

On Thursday there was launched from the shipbuilding yard of Smith’s Dock Company Limited, North Shields, three finely modelled steel steam herring drifters of the following dimensions: 82 ft. by 18ft. 3 ins. by 9ft. 1 inch. They have been built under Lloyds special survey to obtain the highest class 100 A.1. and sill be fitted with compound engines 12 ins. and 26 ins. by 16ins. stroke supplied by Mr W. V. V. Lidgerwood of Coatbridge, and fitted by the Shields Engineering Company Limited, of North Shields. They have been built specially for the Scotch herring fishing, and will be equipped with all the latest improvements for such vessels. The names of the vessels are the “Emily Roach,” “Nina” and “Vanguard III.” The first two named are built to the order of Provost W. H. Leask of Peterhead, and the latter, which was gracefully christened by Miss Hastie of North Shields, to the order of Messrs Martin Gardner & Sons, Cellardyke

Cellardyke skippered and crewed but registered elswhere

Redvers Buller

Redvers Buller SN 297 – 91 ft – 99 Grt 33hp built by Millers of Anstruther 1901.

This picture shows her a steel wheelhouse, it is not known if this is the wheelhouse she was launched with. Sher was hired by a Cellardyke Crew in 1912 as seen by this article from the Sheilds Daily News 23rd Jan 1913 – N.B The Baden Powell was also built by Millers of Anstruther and was the first steam drifter built by that company, set up next to the lifeboat shed after William Jarvis’ retiral in 1899.

DAMAGE TO TRAWLERS’ NETS. To-morrow Major will ask the First Lord of the Admiralty whether claims have been received from George Keay and crew, of Cellardyke, of the steam drifter S.N. 297 Redvers Buller. North Shields, for £4. and from James Muir and crew, of Cellardyke, of the steam drifter S.N. 268 Baden Powell, North Shields, for £5 10s, for nets or gear destroyed on Thursday, July 18. by His Majesty’s gunboats, about 40 miles east by south of the Tyne, and, if so, whether he can expedite the settlement of these claims, which have been pending for six months.

BERNICIA SN 199 Official Number 105203 

Built of wood at Adam Marr’s yard in Leith in 1894. 87.4ft x 19.6 ft x 10.3 ft witha 34 Hp engine. She was registered on 23rd March 1895. built for Fish Salesman, Richard Irvin’s of Shields.

David Parker of Cellardyke was her first skipper and she had a Cellardyke fishing crew, the black squad (the engineer and fireman) came from Shields.

In 1896 David Parker left the Bernicia to take up a new command the White Cross KY571. His brother in law Thomas Watson replaced him as skipper

Feb 1900

Thomas’ father in law, Daniel was on the crew when the Bernicia sailed in Feb 1900.  and was lost with all hands

Also aboard were

Daniel Henderson was 57 and had five grown up daughters.

Sandy Boyter (37) -the husband of Thomas’s cousin Jeanie. This was planned to be one of Sandy’s last trips as he was going to get a share in a new boat.  19 Rodger Street Cellardyke. 6 Children

Alexander Murray (47) 57 James Street, Cellardyke, 8 Children

Alexander Gardner (33) His mother Mary was Skipper Thomas’s cousin. He was married to Ann Lough from Eyemouth and had 5 children

Thomas Gardner (31) married to Annie Millar Birrell, they had no children in 1891 they lived in Urquhart Wynd

James Stvenson (20) unmarried living at 22 Rodger Street Cellardyke. First cousin 1x removed of Agnes Henderson

Thomas Ritchie (18) the cook from Dove street Cellardyke 2nd Cousin 1x removed of Agnes Henderson

Fred Lloyd Engineer from Shields – 3 Children – The Fireman’s name is unknown – also from Shields.

The very severe gale and blizzard of Thursday the 15th February put a stop to the herring fishing for the rest of the week, and very heavy seas continued to break over the East Pier and across the harbour mouth and no boats could venture out. The inner harbour was crowded, every available inch of space being occupied up to the following Wednesday. Very severe weather was encountered by the liners and trawlers. The Largo Bay washed her small boat away and all her wheelhouse windows were smashed by the heavy seas which swept her decks. By Saturday 18th considerable anxiety was felt in Cellardyke on account of no word having been received from the crew of the Shields liner Bernicia. She was skippered by Cellardyke crew under Skipper Thomas Watson. They had left Anstruther with bait on Monday afternoon the 12th Feb, 1900. No words having been received of her whereabouts for a whole week the owners in Shields were communicated with by telegraph but they could not give news of the liner but were hopeful she would turn up. Sunday, Monday and Tuesday passed and still no word. By Wednesday everyone was most anxious and especially the relations of the crew. Mr Rose the Fisheries officer at Anstruther on Tuesday night wired the Fisheries Board in Edinburgh asking them to dispatch one of their vessels to search the North sea for the Bernicia, and soon a reply came stating that the Jackall would be sent out immediately and this vessel sailed on Wednesday 21stFeb. The following Monday Mr Rose the Fisheries Officer received a telegraph that the cruiser Jackal had searched the North Sea for the missing liner Bernicia for 5 days but could find no trace of her or her crew. The Liner was then entirely given up as lost. On Thursday morning Mr Alexander Keay ( and Cousin to the skipper), Fish merchant received word that a lifebuoy with the name Bernicia and a piece of wreckage with the same name had been picked up near Seahouses inside the Farne Islands, and it was thought that the liner was not far from Shields when she went down but she was never heard of again.

RAMBLER SN 247

RAMBLER SN 247 built in 1898 of wood by the Union Co Operative Shipbuilding Society Blyth. 92 grt, 33hp. 90.4 ft

Bought by the Stewart family of Cellardyke

Robert Stewart lost off the Rambler

John Stewart and his brother Robert, owned a fishing boat between them. They had decided to buy a newer boat and soon fell upon The Rambler. Before a deal could be struck, John Stewart was taken ill with flu and confined to bed. He had misgivings about The Rambler…feeling it didn’t have much protection for it’s crew in poor weather and intended speaking to his brother to persuade him it wasn’t the boat for them. However, Robert went ahead and bought the boat without consulting John!

John’s son, Robert, was a deck hand on the boat and one of the first trips to Yarmouth he was washed overboard and drowned. 11th of Nov 1905

John blamed his brother for the loss of his son and two brothers never spoke again. (information from Susan Cathcart)

RAMBLER. SN247. (105224) 1898 to 1918. 92 Gross. 35 Net. 33 Ihp. Length 90ft 4ins. regd at ‘Shields 27.5.1898 Rambler Fishing Co Ltd, North Shields
Lost in conflict after striking a mine on the 26th February 1918, 4 Miles East of Blyth. 9 Dead.

BADEN POWELL SN 268 Official Number 113073 , Built of Wood by James Miller’s yard in Anstruther. 1900 – 93 grt – 90ft x 19.2 x 9.8ft 32 HP engine. Built for The Warrior Steam Fishing Co. Ltd, North Shields  .

4th May 1900 Anstruther – The launch of a trawler built by Mr Miller at his shipbuilding yard at the harbour took place on Saturday afternoon. The launch was witnessed by a large number of people, and as the vessel left the ways, she was christened the Baden Powell by Miss Morton, daughter of Provost Morton. Built to the order of Mr Freeth, North Shields, the trawler is 100 feet over all with 90 feet of a keel, 20 feet in breadth, and 10 feet deep. She is being fitted up with all the latest improvements in fishing vessels of a similar class.

1913 November – Intelligence was received yesterday of the drowning of a Cellardyke fisherman, John Wilson, one of the crew of the Shields drifter Baden Powell, while on a voyage from Yarmouth to Anstruther. Deceased was about 55 years of age and leaves a widow and large family.

ROAMER SN 47 built in 1900 of wood by the Union Co Operative Shipbuilding Society Blyth. 93 grt, 33hp. 91.3 ft

March 1912. Charles Christopher Gen, Toft Terrace Cellardyke, at Cupar today was tried on a charge of contravening the Anstruther Harbour Order by failing to remove his boat, The Roamer of North Shields, in Anstruther harbour on the order of David Davidson Harbour master.

1912 JULY

Intelligence has been received of the loss of the Shields drifter Roamer manned and skippered by a Cellardyke Crew., near Wick.

The Roamer which was engaged at the herring fishing, sprung a leak and made water so rapidly that the pumps became chocked. Fortunately the Chance of Wick another steam drifter was near and succeeded in saving the crew and their gear. The chance towed the Roamer a considerable distance but the latter was making water so rapidly that the crew of the former had to abandon their attempt at saving the boat.

The Roamer was skippered by Charles Gen, Cellardyke, owned by the Roamer Fishing Co , North Shields

ROAMER (113061) (SN47) regd at ‘Shields 7.3.1900 Roamer Fishing Co Ltd, North Shields. 1900-1912. 93 Gross. 36 Net, 33Ihp. 91ft 3ins. Lost 11th July 1912 off Wick

PIONEER PD 54 Official number 93007. Built 1893 of wood at Stephen and Forbes Peterhead – 95 GRT 32HP 87.6ft x 19.3ft x 9.3 ft. 32 HP engine by Hall Russell, Aberdeen sold to Guernsey 1921 . 1915-1919 Requisitioned for Admiralty service as an anti submarine net vessel/examination vessel. Pennant No. 2724.

1895 October – The Pioneer was owned by the Peterhead Steam Line Company and was not doing well under the previous crew, so they hired it out to Adam Reid, Cellardyke who in the first few weeks of this new arrangement was doing very well.

“The Pioneer which has been hired Skipper Adam Reid, was telegraphed from Shields on Wednesday with £104 for the first shot., but was unable to get bait for a second shot”

HIBERNIA SN 150 – Official number 102026. Built of wood 1892 at James N Millers, St Monans 94GRT, 85.3 ft x 19ft x 9.6ft. 30HP, engine built by Baird and Barnsley, Bull Ring Engine Works, North Shields. 1915 John W. Robertson & others, Lerwick, Regd. Lerwick LK457 broken up 1931.

In 1895 this vessel was on hire to a Cellardyke Crew.

NANCY HUNHAM SN154 – Official number 102030. Built of wood in Eyemouth, by J Weatherhead in 1892 . 58 GRt 80ft x17.8ft x8.2 ft. 25 HP. First owners Robert Hastie & others, North Shields . Stopped and sunk 24 miles SE of the Tyne by German submarine UB23, 06/07/1916

1905 This vessel was hired by a Cellardyke crew

GLENCONA SN 196. Offficial number 102048 built of Wood at James Miller’s St Monance yard in 1894, Built for Andrew Robertson & others, North Shields 78 GRT, 88ft . 32HP engine byTweedy Brothers, North Shields Later ownership, 1908 George Stephenson & others, North Shields, 1916 John Smart & Co. Ltd, North Shields., 1917 Registered Lowestoft LT179, 1923 James Rich & others, Sunderland. 1924 Register closed

7th September 1894

On Saturday, there was launched from the shipbuilding yard of Mr Miller, a steam liner built to the order of Mr Andrew Robertson, North Shields. She is 93 feet over all, built of the best material, having extra diagonal irons which add greatly to her strength. Her model and workmanship also given entire satisfaction. As she left the ways she was rimed the Glencona by Miss Thomson of Buckhaven. There was a large turn- out of spectators to witness the launch, and like the previous launches from Mr Miller’s yard was successfully completed. Owing to the space available for launching there is always the danger of colliding with the lower section of the quay, but by using strong check ropes and good management on the part of Mr Miller this has hitherto been avoided. The Glencona will shortly be taken in low for North Shields to have her engines fitted.

26th October 1894

The new steam line fishing boat Glencona, built by Mr James Miller of St Monance, to the order or Mr Andrew Robertson, of North Shields, proceeded to sea from the Tyne on her trial Trip on Wednesday. The engines which were built by Tweedy Bros, Coble Dene, worked very satisfactorily, a speed of 11 knots being attained. Among those on board  during the trial were Mr A Robertson, Mr Wm Robertson, Mr G balls (South Shields), Mr Joseph Reed, inspecting engineer; Mr George Kilgour, Mr Jno Irvin, Mr William Aitken, Mr Stephen Robson, Mr Jos Pelton, and several ladies. During the run, the usual toasts were gone through, and although the sea was a little rough, the trip appeared much enjoyed. The Glencona, we may add, is another addition to the Glen Line. The vessel will start fishing on Tuesday next.

1910 May

Local, drifter in collision off St Abbs Head

Thick fog prevailed at sea at an early hour on Tuesday morning, and the navigation of vessels was very much hampered on this account. The drifter Glencona of South Shields, which has been hired by a Cellardyke crew under skipper Alexander Wood for the ensuing herring fishing, was on her way from Shields to Anstruther to eat on board the gear, etc. The vessel had reached off St Abbs Head when a large trading steamer, which turned out to be the Dwina, of Leith, crashed into them, striking the Glencona with considerable force on the starboard bow, smashing the upper part of the stem and the planking. Fortunately the damage was above the water line, and the Glencona steamed for Anstruther, arriving in the early morning. The Dwina was apparently undamaged and proceeded on her voyage. The drifter has been surveyed, and will have to be repaired before she leaves for the fishing.

CURLEW DE 91 Official Number 17444 Steel 1897, by Dundee Shipbuilding Co. 125 GRT 95 Ft x 19.3 Ft x 10 Ft, 45 H.P. Engine Manufacturer-A Hall Aberdeen. Original name and registration of vessel Curlew DE 91 Cellardyke Crewed “Built as trawler but was unsuceessful so manned by Cellardyke Crew at lines and Drift net from 1897 til sold to Aberdeen 1903 and re reg A906, wrecked 1922

CAPELLA DE 131 Official Number 96537 Iron 1892, by Hepple’s of North Shields. 111 GRT 97 Ft x 19.3 Ft x 10.5 Ft. 42 H.P. Engine Manufacturer Baird and Barnsley North Shields Original name and registration of vessel Capella SN 141 Cellardyke Crewed , Built for Shields, sold to Dundee Fishing Company Ltd 1899 vessel manned by Cellardyke and East Fife crews at lines and Yarmouth fishing. rRequisitioned 1915-1919 as net vessel with 6 pounder Year scrapped 1923.